Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbook of Research on New Literacies
"Situated at the intersection of two of the most important areas in educational research today — literacy and technology. This handbook draws on the potential of each while carving out important new territory. It provides leadership for this newly emerging field, directing scholars to the major issues, theoretical perspectives, and interdisciplinary research pertaining to new literacies. Reviews of research are organized into six sections:
Handbook of Reading Research. Volume 4
"The Handbook of Reading Research is the research handbook for the field. Each volume has come to define the field for the period of time it covers. Volume IV brings the field authoritatively and comprehensively up-to-date."
Literacy for the New Millennium
"...the influence of popular culture, media, and technology on literacy in our society is thoroughly discussed. Each volume covers a specific portion of our lives--early literacy, childhood literacy, adolescent literacy, and adult literacy--in great detail including current trends, and assessment and instruction. For those who are studying the field or who have a special interest in this area, this is a comprehensive work."
Literacy in America : an encyclopedia of history, theory, and practice
(Circulating Collection) "Representing a wide range of perspectives on the topic, both historical and current, this two-volume set offers a comprehensive overview of the study and practice of literacy in the United States. The 400 succinct entries are written by specialists in the field but are still accessible to a nonacademic audience. Ranging widely from adolescent literature to whole language and language assessment, the topics are arranged alphabetically rather than by category, but an index, ample cross references, and a detailed table of contents help readers find any piece of information needed."
Handbook of Reading Research
(In Reference Collection) Intended for reading educators and researchers, this handbook characterizes the current state of methodology and the cumulative research-based knowledge of reading. The book's three sections cover methodological issues, basic reading processes, and instructional practices.
Handbook of Reading Research: Volume 2
(In Reference Collection) A comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues in the field of reading research from the mid 1980s to mid 1990s, this well-received volume offers readers an examination of literacy through a variety of lenses—some permitting microscopic views and others panoramic views. A veritable "who's who" of specialists in the field, chapter authors cover current methodology, as well as cumulative research-based knowledge.
Handbook of Reading Research: Volume 3
(In Reference Collection) In Volume III, as in Volumes I and II, the classic topics of reading are included--from vocabulary and comprehension to reading instruction in the classroom--and, in addition, each contributor was asked to include a brief history that chronicles the legacies within each of the volume's many topics.
Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension
(In Reference Collection)The Handbook of Research on Reading Comprehension assembles researchers of reading comprehension, literacy, educational psychology, psychology, and neuroscience to document the most recent research on the topic. It summarizes the current body of research on theory, methods, instruction, and assessment, including coverage of landmark studies.
Handbook of Reading Disability Research
(In Reference Collection) "Bringing together a wide range of research on reading disabilities, this comprehensive Handbook extends current discussion and thinking beyond a narrowly defined psychometric perspective. Emphasizing that learning to read proficiently is a long-term developmental process involving many interventions of various kinds, all keyed to individual developmental needs, it addresses traditional questions (What is the nature or causes of reading disabilities? How are reading disabilities assessed? How should reading disabilities be remediated? To what extent is remediation possible?) but from multiple or alternative perspectives. "