About the Library

Library Building Information

What's on each floor

Organized from top to bottom, what the library offers:
Floor Library Collections Offices/Departments Classrooms  Technology  Collaboration Spaces Other Info.

3rd Floor

Quiet space

Circulating books - Main Collection

• Capstones, Dissertations and Honors Projects

• Music Scores

• Music Reference Books

• Oversize books

 

BLI 301 classroom

BLI 302 classroom

BLI 305 classroom

BLI 306 classroom

 1 public computer near the main stairs

black-and-white printer/copier/scanner

 Wired and wireless network access throughout the floor

 

This is a quiet study floor

Print library collections info. 

2nd Floor

• Journals & Magazines 

• Literary Magazines 

• Children's books

• K-12 textbooks & curriculum materials

• Casual Reading book collection

• Educational Videos/DVDs 

• Center for Teaching and Learning (CLA)

• CLA Dean's Office

BLI  202 classroom

  10 plus 1 public computer near the main stairs

 Adjustable height electric table

 Wired and wireless network access throughout the floor

2 Microfilm readers

Listening and viewing equipment

Collaboration areas [see photo] Print library collections info. 

1st Floor

entrance

• DVDs and Videos (at the Central Service Desk-CSD)

• HUSC DVDs

• Music CDs

• Reference Collection

• Hold Shelf (at the CSD)

• Current magazines and newspapers

• Central Service Desk for library and technology support

• Research Librarians' offices

• Library Director's office

• Interlibrary Loan and Library Resource & Acquisitions office

• Academic Technology consultant

BLI 104 conference room

BLI 131 classroom

 Dozen plus computers

 Adjustable height electric table

2 black-and-white printer/copier/scanners

 Wired and wireless network access throughout the floor

 Reserve a collaboration space:

 

Non-reservable:

CSD Pod

Water Bottle Fill Station [photo] open in a new window

outside BLI 131

Make a Suggestion box [photo] open in a new window – near the main stairway to the 2nd & 3rd floors

Lower Level

 

• Academic Advising

• Center for Academic Success and Achievement (CASA)

• Tutoring

• Writing and Communications Center

• Recording Studio - BLI  15 [photo] opens in a new window

 University Archives (currently closed)

• Academic Skills Specialists and graduate assistants with CASA.

BLI 10 classroom

Digital Media Lab - BLI  21

1 color printer/copier /scanner 

 Windows/ Chromebook computers 

 Mac computers in Digital Media Lab

 Adjustable height electric table

 Wired and wireless network access throughout the floor

Digital Media Arts Lab

Water Bottle Fill Station [photo] open in a new window

across from BLI  28B

Central Service Desk

Get your library, research, and technology questions answered at one location. A blended, walk-up Central Service Desk (CSD) provides seamless help services, co-locating librarians, academic technologists, library and tech support at the same service desk. Visit us on the 1st (main) floor of Bush Memorial Library. 

 

Technology questions:

Library research or reference questions:

 

knowledgebase icon?My stuff logoOur Hamline Central Service Desk Portal enables asking library/research questions, creating and monitoring technical support requests, checking the status of Hamline online systems (e.g. Canvas, Google, Library Databases, Workday, etc.), and accessing self-help knowledge articles 24/7.

 

Bookdrop

The library has a bookdrop open 24/7,  besides the inside bookdrop next to the CSD. 

The  outside bookdrop on the west side of the building, just off Hewitt Ave. Look for the ramp and the library's sign, and there's a big metal box set in the wall of the library in that area. However it is not checked every day during semester breaks as usual.  If the book-drop is full, please try returning your items another day.  Do NOT pile books or other library materials outside.

 Please don't put computers or WiFi devices in the bookdrop--instead return electronic devices inside Bush Library at the CSD                            or to PiperExpress                            ,  located in Sorin Hall.

 Computers & Network Connectivity

There are public computers near the center stairs on 2nd and 3rd floor that do not require logins. 

Computers are available on the 1st floor and also the lower level of the Library and  require a network login (see CSD for guest accounts).

Network jacks (Ethernet) are located throughout the building on all floors. Wireless access is available on all floors of the Library.

Contact the CSD - Central Service Desk for assistance.
 

Confidential Documents - shredding

The Library has a confidential shredding box on the lower floor--walk left diagonally from the bottom of the main steps towards the cement pillar. [Image]

Faxing

You can send an outbound fax from any scanner-printer multifunction device on campus. Incoming faxes are not accepted.

  1. use your Hamline ID to login to a multifunction scanner
  2. select "Scan and Send"
  3. select "New Destination" and then "Email"
  4. for sending off-campus, type "9" then the fax number and then append "@fax" (without the quotation marks),  e.g. 91234567890@fax
  5. verify and press OK
  6. place document faceup in feeder on top and press "Start" button

 

For more info. on faxing see this Knowledgebase article

 Food and Drink in the Library

Food and beverages are allowed in the Library. Food is prohibited in the computer labs and drinks must be covered. Water bottle fill stations (filters) are located both on the lower and 1st floors.

  • If you eat in the library, please take your trash to the nearest large trash receptacle on each floor (usually near the elevator) to make cleanup easier for our cleaning staff.

Listening & Viewing Equipment

The following audio video equipment is available in Bush Library:

  • 2 DVD/VCR combination players (2nd floor)
  • Computers can play DVDs or audio CDs -- disc tray located on right side base of computers 
  • Headphones (available at the Central Service Desk, 1st/main floor)

Microfilm/fiche Readers

Microfiche/Microfilm readers are located on the 2nd floor of the library. These viewers are useful for accessing some older issues of journals, magazines, or ERIC articles that Bush Library has solely on microform. Microfiche/film images can be downloaded to a user-provided flash drive for storage, printing, or sharing. Images cannot be printed directly from fiche/film to paper with our readers.

Contact the Central Service Desk for assistance.

Printing, Copying & Scanning

Black-and-white printer/copiers are available on most floors and require a current Hamline ID to use. One color copier/printer is available on the lower level of the library. All printer/copiers have scan, email and outgoing fax capabilities. Additionally, one flatbed scanner connected to a computer is available on the lower level. Any print jobs submitted can be picked up from any printer/copier on campus -- see a map of where they are located . For more information on printing and photocopying on campus, please see the FAQs on printing, visit the Piper Xpress page or contact the Central Service Desk.

Quiet Study Floor

The 3rd floor of the Library is designated as quiet study. We request that you keep conversations to a minimum on this floor.

Restrooms

Restrooms are located in the northeast corner on each floor of the Library. Head towards the back of the building, down the hall. The lower level has additional restrooms to the left when coming down the front (main) stairs, and then down the hall to the right.

Is This Page Useful?
: 3 votes (42.86%)
: 2 votes (28.57%)
: 2 votes (28.57%)
Total Votes: 7