Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics
Most comprehensive resource for studies in the field of language and linguistics. Extensive authored entries that contain bibliographies. Volume 14 contains Glossary, Lit of Languages, Language Maps, List of Abbreviations, Subject Classification, and a Subject Index
The Pragmatics Encyclopedia
"covers concepts and theories that have traditionally been associated with pragmatics, but also recent areas of development within the field, scholars who have had a significant influence on pragmatics, interdisciplinary exchanges between pragmatics and other areas of inquiry and all major research trends. ."
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics
This handbook contains 39 articles, divided in 12 sections on topics in applied lingiuistics. Sections are topical, such as discourse analysis, second language learning, teaching, multilingualism in society, and language policy (to name a few). Articles are authored and extensive in their discussion of topics. Handbook includes general index and references section, for further reading.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
This four volume encyclopedia covers topics, people, and development in the field of linguistics. Alphabetically arranged there are 957 articles, including biographies and topics such as Sociolinguistics, language planning, languages and language groups. Articles are authored and some contain bibliographies.
Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics
"...brings together the views of 75 leading researchers in psycholinguistics to provide a comprehensive and authoritative review of the current state of the art in psycholinguistics. With almost 50 chapters written by experts in the field, the range and depth of coverage is unequalled. The contributors are eminent in a wide range of fields, including psychology, linguistics, human memory, cognitive neuroscience, bilingualism, genetics, development and neuropsychology."
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
A concise dictionary of terms and concepts relating to linguistics and phonetics. Alphabetically arranged, this resource is perfect for quick reference.
Oxford Handbook of Linguistic Analysis
"This handbook compares the main analytic frameworks and methods of contemporary linguistics. It offers a unique overview of linguistic theory, revealing the common concerns of competing approaches. By showing their current and potential applications it provides the means by which linguists and others can judge what are the most useful models for the task in hand. "