Enter the title of an article or an author to search across databases
News articles may be delayed up to 72 hours depending upon the news source.
Premium Access to The Chronicle is available free of charge for Hamline users.
Current Hamline students may register for 1 year of free access to the Star Tribune
News websites above may require a personal sign in / login.
See ProQuest News and Newspapers' Publications
e.g. back issues of the Pioneer Press, the StarTribune, the Wall Street Journal
Visit our historical newspapers from the 19th-20th centuries 
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851 - 2018
Historical Minneapolis Tribune 1867-1922
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers. 1911-1949
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers, 1870-2021
While Visiting the Library
Browse our print journals and literary magazines located on the 2nd floor. Literary magazines may be checked out at the Central Service Desk; all other print journals are for in-library use only.
REFERENCE SOURCES provide reliable background information for starting your research. Find encyclopedias, thesauri, subject specific dictionaries and other overviews with an essential bibliography.
OED is the standard English dictionary for definitions, and provides a sophisticated thesaurus, besides usage, region and origin 
Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias
Britannica Academic, a reliable reference resource with citations. Article writers/contributors with their scholarly affiliation(s) are noted.
Oxford has reputable dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias; general and subject specific
SAGE offers reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks
Gale’s Literature Resource Center offers a literary index and Encyclopedia of Literature
Gale’s easily searchable subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference materials
Points of View Reference Center provides unbiased overviews and both sides of each argument for controversial topics
CQ Researcher provides reputable overviews and more in-depth articles on current topics. Provides good bibliographies of other sources
Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary is authoritative with up-to-date definitions and usage notes
Databases by Name
News Sources
eBook Content
Reference Sources
Newsstream database with newspapers from the U. S. plus 60 Minutes
Historical News Sources from 19th-20th centuries
Business News from The Washington Post, PR Newswire, and 30+ other reputable news outlets through EBSCOhost
Newspapers including from local Minnesota cities
Barron's business news (1988-present) 
The Economist News available through Gale
Los Angeles Times news articles (1996-present)
National Review - links through HamCAT
New York Times (1996-present)
Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986-present)
Wall Street Journal Eastern edition (1984-present)
Washington Examiner (2008-present)
Washington Post (Dec. 1996-present)
Al Jazeera news website
Associated Press website
British Broadcasting Corporation news website
Christian Science Monitor website
Chronicle of Higher Education
National Public Radio news website
Pioneer Press online website