Skip to main content

Did You Know: Bush Library Postings

Informational notes from the Bush Library homepage

 

Organized in order of most recent (on top) to older postings.

 

Did you know...

We recently installed small group study spaces on the 2nd floor of the library. Collaborate in style with whiteboards and video monitors.

 

Be a savvy researcher. Use citation management software like RefWorks to keep track of your research, library loans and requests over time.
RefWorks Citation Software logo

 

Star Tribune
Hamline users have full digital access to the StarTribune
thanks to HUSC and the Dean of Students Office.

 

Get an early start on your upcoming research projects: contact a librarian for suggestions for scholarly peer-reviewed resources.

 

Welcome back to Hamline! And a hearty welcome to new incoming and transfer students.
You can rely upon Bush Library for your information and research needs.

 

Happy Toilet Paper Day: Aug. 26

The U.N. estimates that more than 60% of the world's population still doesn't have access to proper toilets.

 

Faculty: view usage reports on how many times readings are accessed -- a benefit of using Leganto Reading Lists in Canvas. Ask your librarian liaison about how you can utilize this free service.

 

As a Hamline faculty or student, you can walk into any CLIC Library in the St. Paul area, use the resources and check out items. Simply bring your Hamline ID. CLIC Cooperating Libraries in  Consortium

 

 We have improved our Faculty & Instructional Support page to more clearly describe how the Bush Library can support teaching and research.

 

 Learn about our Leganto Reading List service for faculty that can save time and help create better Canvas integrated assignment lists.Leganto at Hamline University

 

Get free writing help: Contact the Writing and Communication Center, located in the lower level of the library

 

Lynda.com is a great learning resource available for Hamline users for improving technology and creative skills.
requires Hamline login

 

The RefWorks citation tool can help with your citations and works cited/bibliographies for your research papers. It’s available for all Hamline students, faculty and staff.

 

Bush Library offers novels and other casual reading books on the 2nd floor – located on the low shelves next to the new books

 

SAGE Knowledge offers reputable social science ebooks for the fields of business, communication & media, criminology & criminal justice, education, health & social care, political science, sociology and more.

 

Hamline University started in 1854. See some historic photos of the university and its athletics history brought to you by the Hamline University Archives.

 

Bush Library offers 125,914 print books and online access to 476,812 ebooks as of Spring 2019.

 

Hamline's Writing and Communication Center is open this summer, Mondays through Thursdays, to help students with writing and public speaking.

 

Blackboard and Moodle are no longer available after 5 p.m., Friday, May 31. Try Canvas.

 

A brass is a memorial to bear witness to the dead. Hamline Archives' brass rubbings is said to be the largest such collection in the United States.

 

Can you help us identify the people in these Hamline archival photos?

 

ACS Publications has an updated site that offers easier browsing of American Chemical Society journal titles.

 

Please return items checked out from Bush Library before you leave for the summer. Overdue & lost book fines are applied to your student account.

 

View Hamline student dissertations, theses, honors and capstone projects in our Digital Commons scholarship collections.

 

Blackboard access will end after May 31 as Hamline transitions to Canvas. If you want to save anything from your Bb courses (e.g. syllabi, assignments, recommended materials, etc.), download it before the end of the month. Questions? Email: canvaslms@hamline.edu 

 

Shhhh... the third floor of the library is dedicated to quiet study.

 

Forgot your dongle? The CSD has a ring of AV adapters available for checkout: Mac to HDMI, USB-C, lightning, and more.

 

Hamline Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service will be unavailable (no processing of ILLiad borrowing requests) from Tuesday, May 14 until Tuesday, May 28, 2019. ILL requests can be submitted during this time, but they won't be acted on until May 28.

 

Don't leave valuables unattended in the library, due to the high possibility of theft.

 

After you graduate, you can request an alumni Bush Library borrowing card to continue to check out books. Alumni won't be able to access our electronic books or databases except on campus, however ELM databases are free for anyone within Minnesota to use.

 

Bush Library will be open for extended hours starting Sunday, May 5 to help students prepare for finals.

 

Blackboard access will end after May 31 as Hamline transitions to Canvas. If you want to save anything from your Bb courses (e.g. syllabi, reading lists), download it before the end of the month. Questions? Email: canvaslms@hamline.edu 

 

Dogs on Duty - Pet the Puppies

Reduce some stress by hanging out with cuddly canines that love to be petted, Wed. May 1, from 4-5 p.m. in Bush Library room BML 131.opens in a new window

 

Be a savvy researcher. Use citation management software like RefWorks to keep track of your library loans and requests over time.
RefWorks Citation Software logo

 

The Foodmobile is Coming –Free nutritional food available: Thursday, April 25, 12:30-2:30 p.m. in the parking lot east of Drew Residence Hall

 

Bush Library has at least 1 printer/copier/scanner on all but the 2nd floor.

 

There is a recording studio on the lower level of Bush Library that can be reserved for audio projects.opens in a new window

 

Shhhh... the third floor of the library is dedicated to quiet study.

 

Bush Library has a lost and found by the newspapers, close to the DVD collection on the 1st floor.opens in a new window

 

50 years ago, on April 15, 1969, Cooperating Libraries in Consortium was incorporated in the State of Minnesota. Happy Birthday, CLIC!

 

The Project Muse database has numerous scholarly full text articles aligned with literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and more. opens in a new window

 

As a Hamline student, you can walk into any CLIC Library in the St. Paul area, use the resources and check out items. CLIC

 

HeinOnline has several new database offerings including Gun Regulation and Legislation in Americaopens in a new window, the Pentagon Papersopens in a new window, and resources on the JFK assassinationopens in a new window.

 

Your use of the library building helps determine Bush Library's hours of operation. Recorded building usage helps dictate our scheduled opening and closing times.

 

Need a little privacy when studying, but don't need absolute silence? Check out the worklounge seating on the second floor of the library. Features include power outlets, lamps and just enough privacy to help you concentrate.

 

You can reset your Hamline passphrase whenever you like all by yourself. Simply go to Hamline's Logins page and follow the link for "Passphrase Reset."

 

Films on Demand streaming video has an updated interface that allows easier subject browsing. Watch everything from criminology to interviews with business marketing experts to documentaries by Ken Burns, and more.
opens in a new window

 

Star Tribune
Hamline users have full digital access to the StarTribuneopens in a new window
thanks to HUSC and the Dean of Students Office.

 

Access the new United States Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports database from HeinOnline. Find reports, surveys and evaluations of government programs. opens in a new window

 

REFERENCE sources provide reliable background information for starting your research. Find encyclopedias, thesauri, subject specific dictionaries and other online reference sources on the Databases & Articles page > Reference Sources tab

 

Not sure where to start?  Contact a Bush Memorial Library research librarian for professional advice on finding peer-reviewed information for your particular subject. Save yourself some time and maybe even get a better grade.opens in a new window

 

All on-campus Hamline residents have free TV streaming through XFINITY On Campus.opens in a new window Contact the CSD for more information.
XFINITYopens in a new window

 

CFRA MarketScope Advisor database access is now available.
opens in a new window

 

The CSD at Bush Library provides ethernet cords, mobile device chargers, adapers, as well as help for numerous tech issues.
opens in a new window

 

Hamline has changed print server names: before printing on campus, please check your devices to send to "secure print on darwin" and NOT "secure print on jordan". DARWIN is the new print server.

 

 Bush Library has a Reading List service "Leganto" integrated with Canvas that can save time and effort for faculty and students. Simple tags replace having to fill out reserve forms for the library.

 

Hamline University formerly offered a School of Law. View the historic Hamline School of Law Pictorial Collection from the University Archives.opens in a new window

 

There is now an additional B/W printer photocopier on the third floor of the library near the main stairwell.

 

Forgot your dongle? The CSD has a ring of AV adapters available for checkout: Mac to HDMI, USB-C, lightning, and more. opens in a new window

 

All on-campus Hamline residents have free TV streaming through XFINITYopens in a new window​ On Campus. Contact the CSD for more information.opens in a new window
XFINITY

 

If you have access issues reaching databases or other library resources, please see our Remote Access help and troubleshooting page.

 

Need a stress break? Don't forget that Bush Library has a great movie collection, donated by HUSC. You can find it on the 1st floor, close to the main elevator.

 

Including reputable data sources and statistics can help your research projects stand out. Consult our Data Sources @ Hamline library guide.

 

If you have access issues reaching databases or other library resources, please see our access help and troubleshooting page.

 

Don't leave valuables unattended in the library, due to the high possibility of theft.

 

 

A brass is a memorial that bears witness to the dead, akin to a tombstone. See some brass rubbings from burial-places that date as far back as the 14th century from our Hamline Archives collection, the largest such collection in the U.S. skull from brass rubbing

 

 

Temporarily access over 700,000 public surveys results, hosted by Cornell University through the iPOLL Search from the Roper Center for Public Opinion. Available through November 16, 2018.

 

The Refworks citation tool can help with your citations and works cited/bibliographies for your research papers. It’s available for all Hamline students, faculty and staff.ProQuest RefWorks logoopens in a new window

 

The Oxford English Dictionary is an authoritative source for spelling and defining English words, plus it has a great thesaurus. Find OED online in our Databases & Articles > Reference Sources page or search for it in CLICsearch

 

Can you help us identify these historic photos from the Hamline University Archives?opens in a new window

 

Happy Homecoming!  Hamline Yearbooks are available online thanks to the University Archives.opens in a new window

 

Bush Library has a lost and found by the newspapers, close to the DVD collection on the first floor.opens in a new window

 

Hamline is hiring student employees to work on the Central Service Desk (CSD). We need tech savvy applicants with good customer relationship skills.

 

 You can focus your search for discipline specific articles by using our subject specific databases.

 

Wall Street Journal articles from today’s edition and as far back as 2010 are available through our ProQuest Global Newsstream‎ database.

 

Hamline users have full digital access to the StarTribuneopens in a new window thanks to HUSC and the Dean of Students Office.
Star Tribune

 

Having issues connecting to the Wi-Fi? Need help getting internet access to your Playstation or Xbox? Contact the Central Service Desk (CSD) on the first floor of Bush Library.

 

CLIC loans are from NEARBY schools that are part of our consortium. They arrive faster and loan periods are longer. Interlibrary (ILLiad) loans usually come from FURTHER AWAY, thus they often take longer to arrive and have a more limited loan period.

 

Films on Demand streaming educational video clips can help instructors highlight important learning objectives. Films on Demand

 

Lynda.com is a great learning resource available for Hamline users for improving technology and creative skills. Lynda.com from Linked In

 

 The Chronicle of Higher Education's Premium Access is available free of charge for Hamline users.opens in a new window the Chronicle of Higher Education

 

Check out student dissertations, theses, and capstone projects in Digital Commons Hamline scholarship collection.

 

You can schedule a face-to-face appointment with a reference librarian from the comfort of your couch? You can look up the librarian subject liasions by visiting "Contact the Library", book an appointment, or simply call, email, or stop by the library.

 

The Oxford English Dictionary is an authoritative source for spelling and defining English words. Find OED online in our Databases & Articles > Reference Sources page or search for it in CLICsearch

 

Including reputable data sources and statistics can help your research projects stand out. Consult our Data Sources @ Hamline library guide.

 

Hamline Bush Memorial Library is a CLIC member - which saves users time and helps us provide more robust services thus reducing costs. CLIC Cooperating Libraries in Consortium

 

We have a new library suggestion box near the stairwell on the first floor of the library. Write your feedback or email us anytime at bushref@hamline.edu

 

There are over 100 public libraries in the Twin Cities area that cooperate through the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA).

 

Need help with Blackboard, Google Forms, Lucidchart, or other Hamline supported software? Try the ITS Self-Help site (requires Hamline login):
https://sites.google.com/hamline.edu/its-selfhelp/home

 

 You’ve graduated, but still need access to library databases? Stop in Bush Memorial Library to use a public computer or access the ELM databases that are free for anyone within Minnesota.

 

Hamline University Archives: Can you help identify us these historic photos?

 

Star Tribune
Hamline users have full digital access to the StarTribune
thanks to HUSC and the Dean of Students Office.

 

 Bush Library has a new Reading List service for faculty that can save time and effort, and can help reduce costs for students.

 

Learn about our Leganto Reading List service for faculty.

 

Try our new Reader’s Guide Retrospective database.

 

The Library will be closing Friday, May 18 at 3 p.m. and will be closed Saturday - Sunday, May 19 - 20 for commencement. Congratulations Graduates!

 

Shhhh... the third floor of the library is dedicated to quiet study.

 

Finals stress? Therapy dogs in the library 11:00-12:30 & 4:00-6:00 on Friday, May 11.

 

The Library will be open extended hours until 1:45 a.m. for finals starting the evening of Sunday, May 6.

 

Most libraries are unwilling to loan books via Interlibrary Loan for an entire semester. Don't request something in April or May that you need for your summer term final project.

 

Susie Steinbach, director of honors and professor of history, was recently interviewed in JSTOR’s “Ask a Professor” feature. Steinbach is an author of Understanding the Victorians: Politics, Culture, and Society in Nineteenth Century Britain, and she spoke with JSTOR about Victorian respectability, baking, and Nordic noir detective novels. View the whole story on JSTOR’s website.

 

Looking for a job or internship? Use the ReferenceUSA database until the trial period ends April 5.
Leave feedback
.

 

Need a REALLY big space to write out a math problem or work on some chemistry formulas? Check out the new wall-sized white board in the Bush Library Collaborative Corner. You can reserve the room 101.

 

Spring Break Reading: Bush Library has a small collection of popular fiction titles on the second floor of the library. Find escapist literature for your Service Learning Trip bus ride or simple relaxing reading pleasure.

 

There is a showcase of student work online? Check out the Student Departmental Honors Projects and Graduate Education Capstones.

 

CLIC loans are from NEARBY schools that are part of our consortium. They arrive faster and loan periods are longer. Interlibrary (ILLiad) loans usually come from FURTHER AWAY, thus they usually take longer to arrive and have a more limited loan period.

 

The Refworks citation tool can help with your citations and works cited.

 

Celebrate Love Data Week - Feb 12 - 16, Come to Bush Library for student infographic posters, data story books on display, and treats. Infographics: Student Resources

 

Course Reserves can be checked out at the CSD.

 

Anyone can use the Minnesota Libraries Publishing Project to easily create an ebook. Bush Library can help.

 

Our Central Service Desk (CSD) is a collaborative effort between ITS and Bush Library.

 

Ebooks Minnesota has a collection of Open Education Scholarly Resources: ebooks, textbooks, and videos.

 

Is This Page Useful?
Yes, this page is helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Sort of--this page is somewhat helpful: 0 votes (0%)
No, this page is not helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0