Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Collections @ Hamline
HU Institutional Data
Hamline's Office of Institutional Research and Assessment houses the data files about Hamline's student enrollment, demographics and other basic data, including NSSE results.
What's Included Here
The Data Sources @ Hamline page highlights Bush Library's subscription products, as well as free data sources available to our student and faculty researchers.
Only sources which include interactive data query applications and tools, such as data libraries and external database management systems which are accessed through a server, are listed on this guide.
Researchers seeking pre-packaged statistics may be able to locate those on our other research guides, in the library catalog, and through general internet searching. For assistance, contact a Bush Librarian.
General Data Sources
International stats site with links about global development
Registry of Research Data Repositories
Formerly DataBib, this is a searchable directory/catalog/registry of research data repositories.
Data.gov: Empowering People
Machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government of the United States.
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys. For more information see Using FactFinder and What We Provide.
United States Census Bureau
The leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. 9 different data tools are available, depending on the data sources accessed.
International Statistical Agencies
Links to central statistical offices in countries around the world and three datasets: International Data Base, HIV/AIDS Surveillance, and Global Population Mapping.
The World Bank's World Databank
Contains extensive collections of time series data on education, gender, health nutrition, population, poverty, inequality, development, financial statistics and business regulations. The World Bank currently has three different APIs to provide access to different data sets.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
This UN data source presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.
OECD.Stat Statistics from the OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. This subscription product offers some free data sets.
IPUMS USA: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2010. IPUMS data also includes harmonized income and occupation variables.
Limited query tool, with a broad range of selected data and interesting profiles about selected US cities.
Google DataSet Search
This beta program, works similar to Google Scholar, in that it searches for datasets that you can access, as well as those you cannot (without a fee, or membership in the organization). It only includes data sources that are described by their owners in the schema open source standard. Primarily made up of environmental and social sciences, as well as data from other disciplines including government data and data provided by news organizations.
Data Commons synthesizes a single graph from different data sources. It links references to the same entities (such as cities, counties, organizations, etc.) across different datasets to nodes on the graph, so that users can access data about a particular entity aggregated from different sources without data cleaning or joining.
, Art & Art History
, Creative Writing
, Digital Media Arts
, Education - ESL
, Education & Leadership
, First Year Seminar
, Social Studies