Skip to main content

Databases & Articles

Find Articles & Databases

 Scheduled Maintenance

ProQuest Ebook Central will be unavailable Saturday, July 20th, from 11:00a.m. to 2:00p.m. CST due to scheduled vendor maintenance.

Article Search

Enter the title of an article or an author to search across databases

Search for Databases by Name or Description

Browse

some reputable news sources:


Hamline Premium Access

Star Tribune
Current Hamline users have full digital access to the StarTribune
Google Doc thanks to HUSC and the Dean of Students Office.

Chronicle of Higher Ed. 

 Premium Access to The Chronicle is available free of charge for Hamline users.Google Doc


Historical Newspapers

Visit our historical newspapers from the 19th-20th centuries database source

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times 1851 - 2014


Back Issues

See ProQuest News and Newspapers' Publications 

   e.g. back issues of the Pioneer Press; back issues of the StarTribune


While Visiting the Library

Browse our current print news magazines and newspapers located near the main elevator stairwell on the 1st floor. 

Search Hamline's Online Reference collection

    

 

REFERENCE SOURCES provide reliable background information for starting your research. Find encyclopedias, thesauri, subject specific dictionaries and other overviews with an essential bibliography.

 

Oxford English DictionaryOED is the standard English dictionary for definitions, and provides a sophisticated thesaurus, besides usage, region and origin reference source

 

 CREDOCredo Reference provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias reference source

 

Britannica  Britannica Academic, a reliable reference resource with citations. Article writers/contributors with their scholarly affiliation(s) are noted.  reference source

 

Oxford ReferenceOxford has reputable dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias; general and subject specific reference source

 

SAGE Reference    Sage offers reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks reference source

 

Gale Literature Resource CenterGale’s Literature Resource Center offers a literary index and Encyclopedia of Literature reference source

 

 

Gale GVRL: Virtual Reference Library – research mattersGale’s easily searchable subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference materials  reference source

 

 

Points of View Reference Center Points of View Reference Center provides unbiased overviews and both sides of each argument for controversial topics reference source

 

 

CQ PressCQ Researcher provides reputable overviews and more in-depth articles on current topics. Provides good bibliographies of other sources reference source

Loading ...
Is This Page Useful?
Yes, this page is helpful: 0 votes (0%)
this page is sort of helpful: 0 votes (0%)
No, this page is not helpful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0