Business research requires persistence and creativity...
Proprietary information may not be available (e.g. business models, organizational charts, supply chains, production costs, or market shares) . Finding related, relevant information and tying it together to make inferences about your information need is a skill that can be developed.
Start with library databases, trade publications, and company or government websites.
Form a search strategy:
Refine your search skills:
It all begins with a thought...start at the top of this Mind Map and follow the information process to the original source. Types of research resources are listed for each step of the way.
The left side shows how researchers go through a similar process before conducting an original research study.
What is corporate social performance?
How is it measured?
What are additional search terms related to this topic?
Use online reference resources such as encyclopedias and handbooks for quick, authoritative topic overviews.
Getting background information on your topic can help you to:
Find original research and experts on the topic
Find alternate terms and synonyms to use as search terms
Find related or more specific topics on which to focus your research
Web searching and academic reference resources provide background information.
The ebooks below are a great place to start.
Click on the green "Hamline Access" link and log in using your Hamline computer credentials.
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents takes the guesswork out of preparing firstclass written pieces of every type. Packed with dozens of sample documents and practical tips, this handy guide is everything you need to create: - Proposals - Memos - E-mails - Press releases - Collection letters - Speeches - Technical, research and lab reports - Sales letters - Policies and procedures - Warning letters - Announcements - And much more.
The AMA Handbook of Leadership
The AMA Handbook of Leadership features insights from best-of-the-best thought leaders and executive leadership coaches on topics from talent development, the arts and leadership, and competitive advantage through leadership, to leading across cultures, sustainability, executive transition, and many more timeless (and timely) issues.
Corporate Social Responsibility: A research handbook
This handbook explores and critiques corporate social responsibility goals and national, organisational strategies, whilst reviewing the importance, sustainability and long term value of CSR practice to corporations and civil society.
Handbook of Conflict Management Research
This unique book draws together current thoughts and research in conflict management. Specifically, it brings a wealth of knowledge from authorities in the field on emerging issues such as power in conflict, cognition and emotions in conflict, leading conflict from multiple perspectives and cultural orientations, the role of context in conflict and the teaching of conflict management.
Key Concepts in Organization Theory
From agency theory to power and politics, this indispensable guide to the key concepts of organization theory is your compass as you navigate through the often complex and abstract theories about the design and functioning of organizations.
The Oxford Handbook of Diversity and Work
In The Oxford Handbook of Diversity and Work, edited by Quinetta Roberson, scholars across a variety of disciplines including psychology, sociology, management, law, and social work address these questions with the goal of providing a broad and deep understanding of the field.
The Oxford Handbook of Evidence-Based Management
The Oxford Handbook of Evidence-based Management provides an overview of key EBMgt ideas and puts them in context of promoting evidence-based practice. Furthermore, it addresses the roles and contributions of practitioners, educators, and scholars -- the primary constituents of EBMgt -- while providing perspectives and resources for each.
The Oxford Handbook of Leadership and Organizations
The Oxford Handbook of Leadership and Organizations brings together a collection of comprehensive, state-of-the-science reviews and perspectives on the most pressing historical and contemporary leadership issues - with a particular focus on theory and research - and looks to the future of the field. It provides a broad picture of the leadership field as well as detailed reviews and perspectives within the respective areas.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences.
Practical Statistics
Practical Statistics is an introduction and reference guide for those studying business and management at postgraduate level, MBA students and professionals. It gives the reader a solid understanding of statistics without being too simple or mind-numbingly complex.
The Sustainable MBA
Whether you are an employee, a manager, an entrepreneur or a CEO, The Sustainable MBA Second Edition provides the knowledge and tools to help you "green" your job and organization, to turn sustainability talk into action for the benefit of your bottom line and society as a whole.
You probably already have favorite business news resources such as the following:
Some of these require a subscription payment in order to see all of the content.
Bush Library has subscription access to complete, current content from the following:
