We are not offering physical reserves at this time. Faculty are invited to create a Leganto Reading List and simply tag items for electronic reserves. Or request a partial digitization/scan of a print book or journal through HamCAT [image]. Questions? Contact your library liaison.
Bush Library services are focused on a liaison model in which specific librarians are assigned to departments or schools.
Research & Instruction Librarians by Subject Area:
Your liaison can help you create an online presence for all of your course reading/viewing materials. If we don’t have it, we’ll do our best to procure it. We can also help you create links from Canvas to these materials. Reading Lists, including multimedia materials, can be linked from within your course in Canvas using our Leganto service.See also:
Your library liaison can create a Research Guide for your department, program, or course. This is essentially "one-stop shopping" for your students’ research. We will recommend databases, keywords, websites, or other resources that will help your students get a jump-start on their research for your course.
If you’d like, your liaison can also visit your classroom to provide an introduction to the guide or hands-on experience.
You can ensure that your students are prepared to do research for your course or discipline by scheduling a session with a librarian. This has the potential to both improve the quality of students’ research and save them time. We can also create a Research Guide that will lead your students to the best books, databases, reference sources, and websites for their assignments. Browse some of the research guides created for programs and courses.
To schedule an advanced session, contact your library liaison.
Please contact your liaison librarian to reserve a video for use in class.
Visit our streaming video guide (where you will find Kanopy video information). If you are embedding links for library streaming videos, you probably need to use this link prefix for students to have access when off-campus. If the library doesn't have the video you need for your course, you can request it via this Google form. Contact your librarian liaison for assistance.
How to add Films on Demand into Canvas
Use your Hamline username and password (passphrase) to access materials in our databases. This is the same login and passphrase used for Canvas and for signing in to any Hamline computer.
E.g. yourloginXX and NOT
Having trouble connecting? Consult our off-campus access troubleshooting guide.
For general assistance, contact the Central Service Desk (CSD) or use our chat service. For your research or course needs, contact your library liaison. We can work with you to identify relevant databases, keywords, or search strategies. We can also recommend other specialized collections or resources.
Bush Library offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to support faculty members’ research/scholarship needs when our local collections and online resources (ebooks, databases) are not sufficient.
Hamline offers RefWorks citation management software for all current students, faculty and staff users.
It's easy to import RefWorks citation into Leganto. Ask us how.
Expand access to your publications and presentations through our “Selected Faculty & Staff Works” which highlights Hamline authors’ scholarly output. Selected Hamline Faculty & Staff Works is part of the more encompassing DigitalCommons@Hamline scholarship repository. We also have Digital Collections from our Hamline Archives featuring online historic faculty photos, university catalogues, handbooks, and more.
Contact your liaison to be added to Hamline’s “Selected Faculty & Staff Works”.
A librarian is assigned to every CLA, HSB, and HSEL department/program. The more closely you work with your liaison, the better we can support you and your students. Your liaison will assist with collection-building and training in support of students’ work in your courses.
A significant part of our mission is to provide students with the skills they will need to do research for your courses. These skills are sometimes overlooked because it’s assumed that students are getting this instruction someplace else (you may have experienced that yourself as a student). Bush Library’s instruction programs are designed to support the scholarly learning activities of students, faculty, and staff. The research skills, sources, and strategies taught are applicable for a lifelong use of information.
You can help ensure that all Hamline students are prepared for research by inviting a librarian into your class. If you teach FYSEM, First Year Writing, or a core course in the graduate schools, it is especially important that you schedule an introduction to doing research at Hamline.
Bush Library is committed to supporting the university-wide learning outcome for student learning:
A Hamline graduate will be able to use information and technology competently and responsibly.
According to HULA learning outcomes (revised 2019):A Hamline student will…
Bush Library currently uses the Credo assessment software to measure student learning in selected undergraduate courses. For more information on assessment of information literacy, contact librarian Amy Sheehan.
By helping students improve information literacy skills, we are preparing them to succeed in future research and work opportunities. We offer assistance via 24/7 chat, email, phone or in-person at the CSD. Research & Instruction librarians can also meet with students 1:1 to help discover reliable information resources for projects and papers.
DigitalCommons@Hamline is one method of showcasing the results of student scholarship. Librarians can also assist with other creative ideas. See some examples on our Library Digital Services page.
Please see our library privileges for guest lecturers and scholars.
either on- or off-campus through the library for subscriber access
OR follow these instructions to set up a free Chronicle of Higher Ed. account (especially useful for newsletters or to access content directly from your email)
Canvas Updates & Resources -- info. on how to create course shells and more
Central Service Desk -- a blended library fulfillment and technology help site
Central Service Desk Technology Portal - Self Help Resources and report tech. issues
or contact Conference & Event Management to schedule rooms less than a week in advance