Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hamline University's COVID-19 Shift Plan level has changed.

Library Digital Services: Home

Hamline Library Digital Services that support faculty in teaching and learning.

Digital Initiatives The Hamline University Library and Archives offer a variety of services that support teaching and learning with online apps, platforms, and collections.

In addition to helping you to utilize the following online resources and to find additional resources, librarians can help students understand the intersections of information creation, intellectual property rights and licensing, authority, access, and discoverability --in a digital environment.

Contact Hamline Liaison Librarian in your subject area for more information.

Scholarship Publishing

Preserving, publishing, and promoting Hamline’s student and faculty scholarship.


Digital Commons@Hamline

Departmental Honors Projects

Departmental Honors Projects Readership Map

Tapestries: Interwoven voices of local and global identities
--example of a student produced journal at Macalester


Student projects - examples

Sustainability Cookbook 
--Macalester student using Pressbooks

Slave Trade History 
--Macalester student using StoryMapsJS


Online publishing tools

Pressbooks

Login or create an account 

Learn more: Minnesota Libraries Publishing Project

Pressbooks Userguide

Other Online Tools

Omeka

Scalar

Whittier Workshop: Scalar in the Classroom

 

Finding and Citing Media Guide (Creative Commons Licensed)

Course Materials Support

Managing, collecting, and collating course materials and open educational resources (OER).


Leganto Reading Lists

An introduction video Videos online


Open Educational Resources (OER)

Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation
--OER example used by Hamline faculty from the Open Textbook Library


Student created course materials

The Social Construction of Media: Social Media, Culture, and Everyday Life
--student created "textbook" using Scalar

A Student-Created, Open Access, Living Textbook
--a case study

A Guide to Making Open Textbooks with Students
--2018 Open Education Award for Excellence


Library Curriculum Collections and Guides

Collaboration / Global Citizenship Teaching & Learning

Infographics: Student Resources

Games & Gaming Curriculum

Sustainability Teaching & Learning


Learn more:

Keeping Up with...Digital Pedagogy - remove barriers to learning
      --Assoc. of College & Research Libraries overview

Digital Pedagogy Institute 2018
      -- St. Catharines, Ontario

Is This Page Useful?
Yes- this is helpful: 0 votes (0%)
this page is sort of helpful, but it could be improved: 0 votes (0%)
no, this page isn't helpful or useful: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0

Digital Collections

Materials and collections that tell the unique story of life and times at Hamline.


Hamline Digital Archival Collections

The Oracle
Years: 1888 to early 1900s; Fall 1988 to Spring 2015
Fall 2015 to current on The Oracle webpage
Digitized as text searchable PDFs
Other years available at the HU Library and Archives
In the works: early 1900s to 1923

Hamline Yearbooks
The Liner (Hamline yearbook): 1893-2008 (ceased publication after 2008)

Hamline Faculty Handbooks : 1957-2000s


Example archival student project 

Mapping the Nuremberg Chronicle 
using "...new technologies to explore the old"
(University of Southern California Libraries)