Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Information

Research Guides

Locating Lesson Plans: Sciences A to H

Research guide to help education students, both graduate and undergraduate, locate examples of lesson plans for any subject area or discipline.

Lesson Plans for Science

Science

25 Years of Hubble
For educators teaching astronomy, and for anyone with a fascination for space exploration.

Agricultural Energy Curriculum
Educators looking for an entire curriculum about agricultural use of energy, this curriculum of 15 modules will be a boon. Teachers may download the modules individually or choose to download the entire curriculum simultaneously.

American Chemistry Society: High School Resources
Educators will find lesson plans on the Isolation of Phytochrome, the Development of Baking Powder, the Discovery of Fullerenes, and Man and Materials Through History, among other topics. 

American Museum of Natural History   
Created with educators in mind, this particular tab of the Learn & Teach portion of the museum’s website is quite helpful for teachers.  Visitors can learn about grade-appropriate resources in each section, along with a mix of bulletins, classroom activities, and essays.​

Animal Science Tools for Educators
Resources divided into three age-based categories, Grades K-3, Grades 4-6, and Grades 7-12. Each category harbors colorful and
informative resources designed to spark student interest in caring for animals.

Astronomy and Space
Classroom Resources feature an annotated list of Astronomy & Space Classroom Resources, such as links to the Bad Astronomy blog, and many valuable sites with lesson plans, activities, and other learning resources. 

Bacteria, An Introduction
This lesson plan from Discovery Education delivers an Introduction to Bacteria over the course of three class periods. The site outlines clear objectives, required materials and procedures, discussion questions, and evaluation standards, suggested readings and vocabulary words.

Bagheera
The site provides information on each animal on the endangered species act. There are videos and the classroom section provides classroom activities, a glossary, a bibliography and additional resources.

Brain
Lesson plan activities for K-12 with responsible information on the human brain.

Cell Biology Animation
This interactive site provides dynamic insight into the lives of cells. Provides hours of educational entertainment to anyone who would like to learn more about cell biology.

ChemCam on Mars
Information about the Curiosity Rover, the ChemCam, and Mars itself, including the Education tab, where teachers will find plenty of resources to supplement their lesson plans.

Chemistry Now
The soundtracks, graphics, and topics are designed to appeal to middle and high school students, and they are a perfect supplement for educators who are looking to enrich lessons plans on chemistry and related subjects.

ChemMatters Magazine
The Classroom section offers helpful tips for how to integrate the magazine into classroom activities and lesson plans, while the Archives provide access to back issues.

Climate Change
Perfect for educators who are looking for impactful visual representations of the rising temperatures on the planet, the interactive makes these measurements visceral in a way that charts and graphs are seldom able to do.

Crash Course Kids
For educators looking for a way to bring science to life for 4th and 5th graders, this excellent YouTube channel will provide welcome resources.

Deep Sea Vents
Educators may find the activities - such as "Under Pressure," a classroom exercise that requires nothing more than a soda bottle and some water - especially engaging and helpful.

Discovery Education 
Discovery Education has so much to offer teachers it will never fit in this annotation. Lesson plans, videos, puzzlemakers, science fair ideas, contests, grants, science help and more. But this site is not only for the science fields. Kathy Schrock's Guide to Educators is also housed here. There are so many resources for educators, librarians, students, and schools to use.

Dolphin Deaths: a Case Study in Environmental Toxicology
The case study follows a journalist and four scientists attempting to solve the mystery. It then puts students in the role of investigators, asking them to read, compare, and interpret various explanations of the events, in the process learning the scientific and social aspects that likely intersected to cause the dolphin deaths.

Earth Now
This app from NASA gives readers a peek into the constantly fluctuating elements of the earth's atmosphere. Using 3D models constructed from satellite images, the app displays the causes and effects of climate change. Fascinating for students, teachers and anyone interested in climate change.

Earthquakes in Pacific Northwest
Educators will find much on the site for lesson plans focused on geology, earthquakes, and related topics.

Encyclopedia of Earth: People
This site from the Encyclopedia of Earth focuses on the researchers who have made great science happen. Entries are broken down into categories that include Chemists, Economists, Energy People, Physicists, Biologists, and Environmental Scientists.

EuroStem Cell Program
Educators may like to scout the Resources & Media tab, where they will find lesson plans, videos, images, and a resource directory. 

Faultline: Earthquake History and Science
Faultline provides the history and science of earthquakes in an accessible fashion that is appropriate for elementary through high school students and fun for adults.

Frank Potter's Science Gems 
Contains over 14,000 science resources sorted by category, subcategory, and grade level, and it's still a work in progress.  Visitors should take a look at the "K-16 Science Gems for the Classroom" area complete with subsections on Physical Science, Earth Science, and Life Science. 

Global Climate Change
Lesson Plans for Educators.

Green Chemistry 
The best section of the site is Activities and Experiments, where visitors can look over activities like "Gassing Up Without Air Pollution" and "Cleaning Up With Atom Economy."

How to Smile  
How to Smile is an online community of educators that have vetted over 3,000 engaging hands-on, interactive STEM activities. With both desktop and mobile capabilities, How to Smile is full of activities that are both physical and virtual that are sure to get students involved. Tip: Use How to Smile's search by chemical directory to find activities for any type of experiment.