Guides: Public Administration: Articles

Find Articles

Off-campus Access: If you're off-campus when you click on the database, you'll be prompted to login first. Use your official Hamline User Account username and password. For more information, go to Off-campus Access

Find Full Text: If you find an article but don't see a link to the full text, click on the Find Full Text button from within the database to see whether Hamline has it online in a different database or in print.

ILL (Interlibrary Loan): If we don't have it anywhere else, we can usually get it for you from another library. Login to HamCAT and if you can't find what you need, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form. For more information, visit Borrow & Renew.

Miscellaneous to Browse

SSRN: Bureaucracies and Public Administration
"Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. " This area covers PA.

Start Here

Scholarly and Professional Journals

Start here:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest full-text business database. Find articles business, management, public administration, and nonprofit management articles, as well as case and policy studies. Includes peer-reviewed journals and professional and trade magazines. (SWOT analyses, company reports, industry reports are more easily searched in Business Searching Interface.)

Good Places to Start

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of subject databases including journals, full-text articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections are comprised of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organizational Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Full Text: Yes
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications, journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
Dates Covered: 1980 - present
Full Text: No
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search broadly across many subjects and sources for articles, dissertations, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Google does not identify the databases it uses; nor does it indicate the quality of the sources it provides. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to Hamline database searching.

WAIT! Before you use Google Scholar, consider:
-- Nowhere does Google disclose the source/s of their citations. This means you don't know which disciplinary databases you have searched, which means you don't know where you've search and you don't know where you haven't searched. Use Google Search as a supplement to, not a replacement for, our licensed databases.
-- Google does not "vet" the quality of the journals it indexes. It includes citations from some open access journals that are considered "predatory." This means that some articles have, at best, NOT gone through a reputable review process and, at worst, include plagiarized information and dubious scholarship.
-- The search interface isn't as well-designed, which may have a negative effect on your results.

This doesn't mean you shouldn't use it. You need to understand what it does and doesn't do and design your research strategy accordingly.
For more database suggestions, go to the Public Admin Database Page

News Databases

Newspapers, News Program Transcripts, Blogs

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database indexes thousands of full-text state and national news sources, including:
   The Star Tribune (1986 to present)
   The Pioneer Press (2010 to 2019)
   The New York Times, East Coast Late Edition (1999 to present)
   The Wall Street Journal (2010 to current)
   Transcripts from 60 MINUTES CBS news program
   ...and many more
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers interface provides a full image online and indexing of the New York Times newspaper back to 1851. The current 3 years are not found in this database.

Research Guides

Public Administration: Articles

Find Articles

Miscellaneous to Browse

Start Here

Good Places to Start

News Databases