Skip to main content
The Bush Library building is closed until further notice, but our library staff and many services can still be accessed remotely, and many of our resources can be accessed or requested electronically.
Student guide to conducting research remotely
This faculty guide will help instructors discover services and resources while our library building is closed.
CLICsearch Background Information
To find background information, do a search, then tweak by...
Resource Type > Reference Entries > Apply
Usually general encyclopedias, like Encyclopedia Britannica, come up first. But then, you'll usually see a variety of more scholarly and subject-specific encyclopedias that provide different contexts for your topic.
For example, a search a on new media includes these results:
- Encyclopedia of Gender in Media
- Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
- Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
Articles in special encyclopedias that are especially valuable when starting a research project include:
- major theories
- major scholars
- bibliography of selected/recommended items.
Excerpts from the entry New Media, by Kathleen M. Endres in the Encyclopedia of Gender in Media [Sage Knowledge database [online]:
- "New media is a fluid term. Today, it means the convergence of traditional media, including film, music, audio, and video, with the interactive power of the computer, cell phone, and other computer- and Internet-enabled gadgets. Tomorrow, the definition may shift as new technologies emerge and others fall from favor."
- The new media model of self-directed labor (self-employment, said to represent the future of work) has ramifications for women who work in the industry, but few scholars have examined the situation from a gender perspective.
- "Women have been excluded from the design and development of the computer hardware and software that make new media possible. Moreover, women have not been involved in the design and development of key new media Websites, specifically Myspace, Facebook, YouTube, and Wikipedia."
To find books, do a search, then tweak by...
Resource Type > Books
To limit the books to those shelved at Hamline, add the filter...
CLIC Schools > Hamline
To limit the books to eBooks, add the filter...
Show Only> Full Text Online
The CLIC Consortium
As part of the Hamline community, you have borrowing privileges at the following libraries:
- Bush Library: Borrow and Renew
- CLIC Libraries:
- Bethel University and Seminary Library
- Concordia University
- Hamline University
- St. Catherine University Libraries
- University of Northwestern
- University of St. Thomas Libraries
To search for books in the Hamline and CLIC libraries, use CLICsearch.
To have items from the CLIC libraries delivered to Hamline for you, either use the "request" feature in CLICsearch or visit the library in person and use your Hamline ID to check materials out.
Deliveries are twice daily, M - F when classes are in session, once a day, M - F when they're not.
Questions about using materials? Contact the Central Service Desk (CSD) at 651-523-2373.
To find articles, do a search, then tweak by...
Resource Type > Articles
To limit the articles to Scholarly/Peer review, add the filter...
Show Only > Peer Reviewed Journals
To limit the articles to those that are Full Text online, add the filter...
Show Only > Full Text Online
Off-campus Access: If you're off-campus when you click on the database, you'll need to login with your Hamline username and password. More information.