A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Ballot Measures - today's most important issues, players and campaigns. Ballotpedia is an online encyclopedia about American politics and elections.
Browse Government Topics - a resource designed to be the pathway to any publicly-accessible, Government information.
Budget of the United States Government - .pdf copies of U.S. Budgets from the 1930's to 2009.
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms - research such issues as violent crime or regulations relating to alcohol, tobacco, firearms, explosives and arson.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. FREE E-books also are available through the CGP.
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau - Purpose of the Bureau is to make consumer financial markets work for consumers. It protects consumers from unfair, deceptive, or abusive practices and takes action against companies that break the law.
Department of Agriculture - Agricultural Research Service solves agricultural problems that affect Americans every day from field to table.
Department of Education - search everything from accreditation to student achievement, charter schools, civil rights, distance learning, dropout rates, education reform, ESL, technology, vouchers, work study and more.
Department of Homeland Security - to secure the nation from the many threats we face. That ranges from aviation and border security to emergency response, from cybersecurity analyst to chemical facility inspector.
Department of Interior - search all agencies in this department, including: National Park Service, Fish & Wildlife, Bureau of Land Management, US Geological Survey, Bureau of Reclamation, Minerals Management Service, Office of Surface Mining.
Department of Justice - search for full text documents covering such topics as immigration, civil rights, the environment, consumer fraud, domestic violence, youth violence, prisons, antitrust and more.
Department of Labor - home page with facts on minimum wage increase, labor statistics, and historical information on labor.
Department of Labor Subject Index - check out this site for information on child labor, occupational safety and health issues, minimum wage, unions, employment discrimination or migrant workers.
Department of Transportation - information on the airline industry, rail transportation, light rail, automobiles and more.
Department of Treasury - works to maintain a strong economy by promoting conditions that enable economic growth and stability.
Economic Report of the President - current and foreseeable trends and annual numerical goals concerning topics such as employment, production, real income and Federal budget outlays, and more.
Environmental Protection Agency - includes the recent and historical documents on EPA's response to the Flint Drinking Water situation.
ERIC-Education Research Information Center - education information for teachers, librarians, counselors, administrators, and parents.
Federal Bulletin Board - search for legislative documents, Federal Agency reports, executive reports from the OMB or the Council on Aging and the Supreme Court.
FBI - Federal Bureau of Investigation - research crime reports, major investigations, most wanted, kids and youth.
Federal Digital System - search FDsys to obtain electronic copies of official federal government publications.
Federal Election Commission - building data files that will allow you to download campaign finance information in ways that we hope are most useful for you.
FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) - ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.
Federal Reserve - The Federal Reserve System, often referred to as the Federal Reserve or simply "the Fed," is the central bank of the United States. It was created by the Congress to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system.
Freedom of Information Act Documents - access to Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act.
GovInfo - This site provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Federal Digital System - search across multiple databases from within a scrolling text box.
MetaLib - a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
National Park Service - search America's history and culture.
State Agency Portal - US State and the District of Columbia, agencies are creating databases of useful information.
Social Security Administration - information about the agency, retirement benefits and more.
USA.gov - an interagency government portal
U.S.A. Spending - government spending at your fingertips.
The White House - search for White House documents, press releases, executive branch issues, executive orders, and more.
State & County Information Sources
State Data Center - provides specific information for each state.
Search State Legislation - use this site to find information on recent bills and resolutions in the 50 states.
National Association of Counties - includes information such as historic census information, birth certificates, marriage licenses, court documents and land purchases. Includes contacts for local officials as well as square miles for every county in America.
Minnesota Secretary of State Documents - The Office of the Secretary of State is the repository for many of the official records of the state of Minnesota. Older, print-only official documents from the early 1900s to 1990, are now available online.
Open Government Guide - The Open Government Guide is a complete compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws. Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states.