Guides: Advanced Leadership: Database Search (Articles)

Articles: Targeted Resources and Search Tips

The most efficient way to find academic research articles or trade publication articles is by searching subject specific databases.

Use the Databases by Subject page to help you discover subject specific databases.

For articles about leadership research, leadership styles, or business or nonprofit leaders:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest full-text business database. Find articles business, management, public administration, and nonprofit management articles, as well as case and policy studies. Includes peer-reviewed journals and professional and trade magazines. (SWOT analyses, company reports, industry reports are more easily searched in Business Searching Interface.)
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists.
Dates Covered: 1985 - present
Full Text: Yes

For political or historical figures start with these databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.
Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.

Check out other databases that support these subject areas: Databases by Subject

Where is the full article?

Click on PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text.
If these links do not exist, look for Find Full Text. The resulting page will give you a link to the article/journal or an option to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Database Search tips:

Use an asterisk at the end of words in order to capture all alternate endings (i.e. manag* = manage, managed, management...)

Use quotation marks around words when you want results with that exact phrase (i.e. "multinational corporations" will be a more specific search than those words searched without quotes)

Within your search results list, look at the "Subject" terms applied to the articles. These may give you other terms to use instead of, or in combination with, your original search terms.

You may find the following brief online video tutorial helpful in searching EBSCOhost databases such as:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest full-text business database. Find articles business, management, public administration, and nonprofit management articles, as well as case and policy studies. Includes peer-reviewed journals and professional and trade magazines. (SWOT analyses, company reports, industry reports are more easily searched in Business Searching Interface.)

News Sources

Need up to date information on a topic or event?