Encyclopedia of Leadership
The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time everything that is known and truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience. Developed by the award-winning editorial team at Berkshire Publishing Group, the Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles, written by 280 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries, exploring leadership theories and leadership practice. Entries and sidebars show leadership in action - in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations.
The Oxford Handbook of Leadership and Organizations
As the leadership field continues to evolve, there are many reasons to be optimistic about the various theoretical and empirical contributions in better understanding leadership from a scholarly and scientific perspective. The Oxford Handbook of Leadership and Organizations brings together a collection of comprehensive, state-of-the-science reviews and perspectives on the most pressing historical and contemporary leadership issues - with a particular focus on theory and research - and looks to the future of the field. It provides a broad picture of the leadership field as well as detailed reviews and perspectives within the respective areas. Each chapter, authored by leading international authorities in the various leadership sub-disciplines, explores the history and background of leadership in organizations, examines important research issues in leadership from both quantitative and qualitative perspectives, and forges new directions in leadership research, practice, and education.
Leadership Glossary: Essential terms for the 21st century
From Agent of Influence to Zero Defect, this glossary is an authoritative and inter disciplinary compendium of 750 of the most important terms used in leadership study and practice. Each term is concisely defined for ease of use for researchers and students of any level.
Leadership in Public Organizations
Thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the latest thinking in the field, this concise yet comprehensive treatment of public sector leadership is designed for upper division and graduate students, and can also serve as a guidebook for professionals. It offers a full, up-to-date review of public leadership theories, covers the major competency clusters in detail, and provides both the research on each competency and practical guidelines for improvement.
The Psychology of Leadership
In this book, some of the world's leading scholars come together to describe their thinking and research on the topic of the psychology of leadership. Most of the chapters were originally presented as papers at a research conference held in 2001 at the Kellogg School of Management of Northwestern University. The contributions span traditional social psychological areas, as well as organizational theory; examining leadership as a psychological process and as afforded by organizational constraints and opportunities. The editors' goal was not to focus the chapters on a single approach to the study and conceptualization of leadership but rather to display the diversity of issues that surround the topic. Leadership scholars have identified a host of approaches to the study of leadership. What are the personal characteristics of leaders? What is the nature of the relation between leaders and followers? Why do we perceive some people to be better leaders than others? What are the circumstances that evoke leadership qualities in people? Can leadership be taught? And so on. The contributions to this book examine these important questions and fall into three categories: conceptions of leader
The African American Almanac: 400 years of triumph, courage and excellence
The most complete and affordable single-volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America. A legacy of pride, struggle, and triumph spanning more than 400 years is presented through a fascinating mix of biographies-including 500 influential figures-little-known or misunderstood historical facts, enlightening essays on significant legislation and movements, and 150 rare photographs and illustrations. Covering events surrounding the civil rights movement; African American literature, art, and music; religion within the black community; and advances in science and medicine, this reference connects history to the issues currently facing the African American community and provides a range of information on society and culture.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders.Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
From Suffrage to the Senate - America's Political Women
From Suffrage to the Senate is a comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.
Women Educators, Leaders and Activists: educational lives and networks 1900-1960
The chapters in this edited collection train the intellectual spotlight on women educators to trace the contours of their professional lives and the extent to which they challenged the gendered terrain they occupied. The emphasis is on women's historical public voices and their own interpretation of their 'selves' and 'lives' in their struggle to exercise authority in education at a particular historical moment and in a particular culture. Framing each of the women educators as agents of their own lives emphasizes their individual consciousness and ability to act within their own professional sphere. Thus, women need to be viewed in terms of the historical context in which they lived and the social positions they occupied.
World Leaders of the Twentieth Century
One hundred key global leaders are presented here for those needing essential bibliographical reference. The volumes include historical photographs covering key figures from the US Presidency to war-mongering dictators, plus visionaries, ideologues and revolutionaries from around the world.
Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations
Presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
American Environmental Leaders: From colonial times to the present
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed