Sample reference books to help you with your literature review or research methodology:
Succeeding with Your Literature Review
...comprehensive and practical guidance on the process of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, as well as planning and writing a literature review.
Guide for the Young Economist
Especially chapter 2, Writing Papers: This book is an invaluable handbook for young economists working on their dissertations, preparing their first articles for submission to professional journals, getting ready for their first presentations at conferences and job seminars, or undertaking their first refereeing assignments.
Encyclopedia of Research Design
This work covers the spectrum of research design strategies and topics.
Just Plain Data Analysis: Finding, Presenting, and Interpreting Social Science Data
...statistical literacy skills that they can use to evaluate and construct arguments about public affairs issues grounded in numerical evidence.
Reference books for gathering background information:
General Economics:
21st Century Economics: A reference handbook
Summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics.
Basic Economics
In this fifth edition of Basic Economics, Thomas Sowell revises and updates his popular book on common sense economics, bringing the world into clearer focus through a basic understanding of the fundamental economic principles and how they explain our lives. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English.
A Dictionary of Economics
More than 3,500 key economic terms covering all aspects of economics.
Handbook of Research Methods and Applications in Empirical Macroeconomics
This comprehensive Handbook presents the current state of art in the theory and methodology of macroeconomic data analysis.
The Routledge Handbook of Major Events in Economic History
The Handbook of Major Events in Economic History aims to introduce readers to the important macroeconomic events of the past two hundred years.
Special Topics in Economics:
The American Economy
Includes hot topics of inflation, government regulation, off-shoring, and corporate scandals
The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour
Employing empirical methods, including laboratory experiments, field experiments, observations, questionnaires and interviews, the Handbook covers aspects of theory and method, financial and consumer behaviour, the environment, and biological perspectives.
The Econometrics of Sport
This unique book offers a survey of recent research that follows the tradition of empirical and theoretical analysis of sport economics and econometrics.
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
This essential reference work pinpoints the role of the economy in both creating and solving many of the world's most pressing environmental challenges. * Provides stand-alone, easy-to-understand, politically neutral, and factually driven entries by leading experts on all the major themes and topics in environmental and natural resource economics.
The Federal Reserve: what everyone needs to know
Of the two major governmental tools for shaping the economy, Congress controls fiscal policy -taxation and spending - and the Fed makes monetary policy - influencing how much money circulates in the economy, and how quickly...
Handbook of Emerging Economies
Analyzes emerging and newly emerged economies, including the BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) and other likely (Turkey, Indonesia, Mexico, and South Korea) as well as possible (Vietnam, The Philippines, Nigeria, Pakistan, Egypt, Colombia and Argentina) candidates for emerging economy status. Chapters on theories surrounding emerging markets (including the Beijing/Washington Consensus debate) offer an overview of current issues in development economics, in addition to providing an integrated framework for the country case studies.
Handbook of Global Economic Governance
This book will: Provide a thorough analysis of the issues at stake in designing international rules and institutions able to govern the global economy; illustrate and analyze virtually all the main institutions, rules, and arrangements that make up global economic governance, inscribing them within the function these institutions, rules, and arrangements are meant to perform; discuss the problems that affect todaye(tm)s global economic governance and assess alternative proposals to reform the international financial architecture.
Handbook of International Economics
Systematically illuminates and interprets recent developments in research on international trade and international macroeconomics. Focuses on newly developing questions and opportunities for future research. Presents multiple perspectives on ways to understand the global economy.
The Oxford Handbook of the History of Consumption
...offers a timely overview of how our understanding of consumption in history has changed in the last generation, taking the reader from the ancient period to the twenty-first century.
Responsible Tourism: Using tourism for sustainable development
Routledge Handbook of the Chinese Economy
Topics covered include: the history of the Chinese economy from ancient times onwards; economic growth and development; population, the labor market, income distribution, and poverty; legal, political, and financial institutions; and foreign trade and investments. Offering a cutting-edge overview of the Chinese economy, the Handbook is an invaluable resource for academics, researchers, economists, graduate, and undergraduate students studying this ever-evolving field.
