Art: Websites

"AIGA, the professional association for design, believes designers serve a critical role as communicators, educators and innovators. AIGA sets the national agenda for the role of design in economic, social, political, cultural and creative contexts."

Fully Digitized Collections of artists' personal papers, e.g. correspondence, writings and notes, photos.

Some link to transcripts to interview of artists, some are simply a description of the interview.

The "Virtual Library for Art History."

It's in German, but don't let that stop you. Check your browser for a translation plug-in or use Google Chrome, which automatically gives you the chance to translate any webpage once it loads.

"Reveals for the first time the breadth and richness of this body of works. It has led and will continue to lead to the discovery of many works scattered across America, in places as diverse as museums, historic houses, government buildings, corporate collections, and public spaces. The French Sculpture Census marks an important contribution to the study of the history of taste, the building of American museum collections, the development of the art market, and the transatlantic transit of art.

"The only nonprofit organization in the United States that is dedicated solely to presenting self-taught and outsider art."

A wiki for collaborative studies of the arts, media and humanities. Comes out of Prague, in the Czech Republic.

"The United States is home to some of the most extraordinary collections of public art in the world. For many, a public art collection is not only part of a city or regional identity, it often serves as a major vehicle for engaging local citizens and visitors through art. Within these pages you will find interesting and beautiful images and extensive descriptions of public art from across the country."

"The International Sculpture Center (ISC) is a member-supported, nonprofit organization founded in 1960 to champion the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique, vital contribution to society. Members include sculptors, collectors, patrons, architects, developers, journalists, curators, historians, critics, educators, foundries, galleries, and museums—anyone with an interest in and commitment to the field of sculpture."

"Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook."

"Serves as an international network for video art and experimental films. As a video-sharing website and online community, Videoart.net has helped to democratize the relationship between artists, curators, institutions, and the public worldwide. Videoart.net attracts both art and film industry professionals by merging the avant-garde with art and film establishments. Videoart.net has positioned itself as one of the most popular video art and experimental film websites in the world."

Over 61,000 images of works in their collection.

View a database of all exhibited works in the Louvre (30,000+ items): Atlas database of the Louvre

premier Museum in New York. Images from current and past exhibits are online.

"Take a virtual tour of 18 rooms at the National Gallery. Get closer to the paintings: choose fullscreen for an even better view."

U.S. Presidential and First Ladies portraits as well as portraits from the Civil War, Women's Suffrage movement and more.

Photos and images that can be freely used without any restrictions from Galleries, Libraries, Archives and Museum. Includes links to: Los Angeles County Museum of Art, US National Gallery of Art, and the Rijksmuseum.

ProjectNORMAN (New Online Rockwell Media Art & Archive Network) is preserving and making the Norman Rockwell Museum art and archival collections accessible to researchers, curators, students and the general public.

"A cultural destination dedicated to exhibiting both digital and print photography in an intimate environment. The space features state-of-the-art, high-definition digital technology as well as traditional prints by some of the world's most renowned photographers and a selection of emerging photographic talents as well."

"In the 1920s and ’30s photography underwent a period of exploration, experimentation, technical innovation, and graphic discovery so dramatic that it generated repeated claims that the true age of discovery was not when photography was invented but when it came of age, in this era, as a dynamic, infinitely flexible, and easily transmissible medium. The Thomas Walther Collection concentrates on that second moment of growth. The Walther Collection’s 341 photographs by almost 150 artists, most of them European, together convey a period of collective innovation that is now celebrated as one of the major episodes of modern art."

"No longer confined to the traditional print studio, the field of printmaking has in recent years attracted a broad range of artists with a variety of skills, training, and interests, who have taken advantage of new, often highly efficient and user-friendly technologies. Print/Out explores how these artists have integrated the medium’s defining characteristics—reproducibility, collaboration, and ease of circulation—into some of the most innovative art practices of our time."

"One of the country's premier libraries on graphic communication history and practices... the Cary Collection is commited to building comprehensive primary and secondary resources on the development of the alphabet and writing systems, early book formats and manuscripts, calligraphy, the development of typefaces and their manufacturing technologies, the history and practice of papermaking, typography and book design, printing and illustration processes, bookbinding, posters, and artists’ books."

Digitized book about some of the "isms" of art: Dada. Expressionism. Futurism, Constructivism. Cubism. Suprématisme, ...
In German, French, and English