Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Magazines: Historical
Search for newspaper articles for contemporary accounts of art or artists, e.g. reviews of exhibitions.
Art and Satirical Magazines, 19th and Early 20th Century
"The development of French and English cartoons from the period 1841 until 1872 and from 1894 to 1914 allows for "European perspective" on important historical events that were significant and formative for the whole of Europe, such as the Revolution of 1848. the Franco-German War and the history of the First World War. In addition, the illustrations reflect the social changes of this time and the stylistic development of the cartoon." (Google translation of intro). This is part of the Arthistoricum website. It includes texts from France, Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, and Italy. To translate , when you're viewing the facsimile (digital image), switch to the OCR-Volltext view. (It's not a great translation, but you can at least get the gist) . Then, copy and paste into Google Translate.
Avant-Garde and Modernist Magazines
"A one-page guide to navigate the quickly growing presence of avant-garde magazines online...In their day avant-garde magazines had been the closest to medium-specific publishing. Challenging the standardized procedures of the industry they tended to equalize the importance of writing, editing, illustrations, layout, typography, printing and distribution as mutually constitutive practices. The whole could become greater than the sum of its parts. Produced by makers many of whom were skilled in techniques of printing and mechanical reproduction these works are also fine examples of engaged publishing, a practice whose concerns extend from the content of pages to their ink and fiber."
Blue Mountain: Historic Avant-Garde Periodicals for Digital Research
"A digital thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848, the year of the European Revolutions, and 1923 – a functional boundary for works presumed to be in the public domain."
Historical New York Times
ProQuest Historical Newspapers interface provides indexing and full image online archive of the entire New York Times newspaper back to 1851. The current 3 years are not found in this database.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune
The Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1922) offer full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services.
"ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies."
To limit your results to archives, use Advanced Search, select Format > Archival Materials.
Archives of American Art: Oral History Interviews (Smithsonian)
Some link to transcripts to interview of artists, some are simply a description of the interview.
The "Virtual Library for Art History." It's in German, but you can access the English version of the site by clicking on the British flag in the upper right corner.
From the Centre Pompidou. It's in French, but don't let that stop you. Use Chrome as your browser and, when it offers, have it translate the page. (It's not a great translation, but you can at least get the gist) .
BnF (French National Library) Reproduction Services
The BnF offers commercial digitisation and print services of documents held in the library’s collections.
Book of Kells
A highly regarded illuminated manuscript of the four gospels from medieval Ireland.
Cambridge Digital Library
"Over the course of six centuries Cambridge University Library's collections have grown from a few dozen volumes into one of the world's great libraries, with an extraordinary accumulation of books, maps, manuscripts and journals. These cover every conceivable aspect of human endeavour, spanning most of the world's cultural traditions."
Online Sources for European History. Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations. Browse by country or search.
Digital Collection of the French National Library. Includes digitized books, periodicals, images, maps and more. Some materials go back as far as the 11th century.
HathiTrust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world."
Qatar Digital Library
A vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualised explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic.
Vincent van Gogh: The Letters
"All the surviving letters written and received by Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) are contained in this edition of his correspondence... It is intended for Van Gogh specialists, art historians and literary scholars studying Van Gogh’s letters or work, and students of art history, the history of literature and allied disciplines."
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
Fully Digitized Collections of artists' personal papers, e.g. correspondence, writings and notes, photos.
Colour Wheels, Charts, and Tables Through History
"A chronology of various attempts through the last four centuries to visually organise and make sense of colour. A wide variety of forms and methods are represented: from simple wheels to multi-layered pyramids, from scientific systems to those based on the hues of human emotion."