Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From Databases page, go to > Artstor
A non-profit online digital image library designed to serve educational and scholarly communities with almost two million images on subjects in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. ARTstor provides tools and software to search, present, and share digital images both online and offline for research and pedagogical purposes. Images are cleared for use in papers, presentations, and Canvas by members of the Hamline community. Images cannot be used on a website viewable by the general public (aka "the open web").
Other Image Sources
"Art Resource is the world's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than 1,000,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources."
BnF (French National Library) Reproduction Services
The BnF offers commercial digitisation and print services of documents held in the library’s collections.
Digital Collection of the French National Library. Includes digitized books, periodicals, images, maps and more. Some materials go back as far as the 11th century.
170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI). Most are in the public domain and can be used without permissions. Photographers represented include Dorothea Lange, Walker Evans, and Gordon Parks.
Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
Browse or search a collection of over 3000 images from the Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery (UK).
Web Gallery of Art
"The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 26.000 reproductions."