Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology On the Web
Anthropology Web Sites
- American Anthropological Association: Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology. An excellent website with many instructional subsections.
- Anthropology Tutorials: Introductions to various subjects within physical and cultural anthropology: language and culture, evolution theory, human blood, etc.. Subjects include introductions, discussion, related internet sites, a glossary of terms and bibliography.
- Experience Rich Anthropology: case studies
- Archaeological Program which includes the National Archaeological Database from the National Park Service. Your faculty recommends the Kennewick Man section.
- Anthropological Research and the Freedom of Information Act: Why and how to use the FOIA for anthropological research for information.
- The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA):"...provides a process for museums and Federal agencies to return certain Native American cultural items -- human remains, funerary objects, sacred objects, and objects of cultural patrimony - to lineal descendants, culturally affiliated Indian tribes, and Native Hawaiian organizations."
- Bibliographies For Anthropological Research: Bibliographies on subjects like dating techniques, regional information, linguistics, gender, human origins, and lithic studies.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Anthropology Page: Hub for resources in anthropology: general resources, courses, journals, departments and programs, listserves and newsgroups, and conferences.
Archaeology & Fieldwork
E-Journals, databases, and handbooks
Museums & Exhibitions
- Minnesota Archaeological Society: active group that is also seeking volunteers
- Minnesota Prehistory: Has information on archaeology in Minnesota, including bio sketches of several archaeologists. Includes information on Minnesota laws concerning archaeology. Other topics include taxonomy, sites, and technology of prehistoric Minnesotans.
- Minnesota Historical Society Archaeology: Has information on excavations, rock art, public and industrial archaeology, and educational resources. Sites includes links.