Skip to main content
The Bush Library building is closed until further notice, but our library staff and many services can still be accessed remotely, and many of our resources can be accessed or requested electronically.
Student guide to conducting research remotely
This faculty guide will help instructors discover services and resources while our library building is closed.
This Guide is designed to help you explore topics ranging from the history of children's literature to the trustworthiness of narrators to hedgehogs.
Use CLICsearch to start exploring. CLICsearch searches most of our databases, which include books, ebooks, online articles, and streaming videos.
Want to dig deeper? Explore the tabs above.
The Children's Literature Collection @ Hamline
The Children's Literature Collection is housed on the 2nd floor of the Hamline Library. This collection provides research support for students in the Writing for Children and Young Adult (MFAC) program and includes:
- Books on the MFAC Required and Recommended Reading Lists
- Selected books written by MFAC faculty and alumni
- Books that have received national recognition:
- Books shelved in the general library collection on:
- Craft of writing
- History of children's literature
If you live more than 50 miles from Hamline and need:
Books: Use CLICsearch to do your search.
- You'll be able to find Hamline's ebooks and use them from home.
- Found a print book? If you live:
- In Minnesota, find the title in MnLink and use the "Request Item" button to have it sent to your local public library. Be sure to use your public library barcode (not Hamline's).
- Anywhere outside of Minnesota, contact your local public library, which may be able to get it via their Interlibrary Loan service for you.
- Or, use worldcat.org to search worldwide. Using this database, you can see which libraries are closest to you. You may be able to visit these and, if you can't check items out (e.g. from a university library), you can almost always look at them in the building and make photocopies.