Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Picture Book Database
Combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites. Includes books and stories from 36 countries. A dependable resource that help readers find the best picture books in one place, without having to consult multiple resources.
The Most Fun Database You'll Ever Use!
You can search by:
- Subject: Aardvarks Baba Yaga Cabbage Dadaism Eagle Faces Gargoyles Hair Inspiration Jellyfish Karaoke Ladybugs Mice...
- Genre: Adaptation Anthropomorphism Autobiography Beast Tales Biography Cautionary Tales Creation Stories Fables...
- Literary Device: Allegory Alliteration Allusion Ambiguity Analogy Anecdote Antihero Aphorism Archetype Cliche...
- and more.
The full text of the books is not included; if a book is available, in part or in whole, via Google Books, the link is provided. To see whether Hamline or your local library has it, use the Find In a Library/Worldcat button under the image of the book cover.
Historical Children's Books
Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature
The Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. The Library also has manuscript collections, original artwork, and assorted ephemera such as board games, puzzles, and toys. The Baldwin Library is known for comparative editions of books, with special emphasis on Robinson Crusoe, Pilgrim’s Progress, Aesop’s Fables, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. The Library also has the largest collection of Early American Juvenile Imprints of any academic institution in the United States.
Other strengths and distinctions of the Baldwin Library include: marginalia and inscriptions, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards Collection, Little Golden Books, religious tracts, and illustrated editions from the Golden Age of Children's Literature. Scholars worldwide use the Baldwin Library for research in fables, fairy tales, alphabet books, morality tales and religious tracts, conduct of life, gender roles, comparison of editions, adventure stories, and boys’/girls’ series books.
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature
"The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. I expect the user to be a librarian or a teacher intervening for a child-reader, however anyone may make use of it to find the best in children's literature including parents, book store personnel, and children and young adults themselves."