Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 Information

Research Guides

Writing for Children and Young Adults: Search: HamCAT

HamCAT: Find Background Information / Reference

To find background information, do a search, then filter by...
Resource Type > Reference Entries

Usually general encyclopedias, like Encyclopedia Britannica, come up first.  But then, you'll usually see a variety of more scholarly and subject-specific encyclopedias that provide different contexts for your topic.

For example, a search a on children's stories Includes these results:

  • Sage Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies
  • Oxford Companion to Children's Literature

Articles in special encyclopedias that are especially valuable when starting a research project include:

  • history
  • overview
  • major theories 
  • major scholars
  • bibliography of selected/recommended items.

 

HamCAT scoped to Children's Literature

Search Hamline's Children's collection

HamCAT Books

To find books, do a search, then filter by... 
Resource Type >  Books

To limit the books to those shelved at Hamline, add the filter...
Show Only >  Available at Hamline

To limit the books to eBooks, add the filter...
Show Only > Available online at Hamline

HamCAT Articles

To find articles, do a search, then filter by... 
Resource Type >  Articles

To limit the articles to Scholarly/Peer review, add the filter...
Show Only > Peer Reviewed Journals

To limit the articles to those that are Full Text online, use the Peer Reviewed Journals filter, then add the filter... 
Show Only > Available online at Hamline

Off-campus Access: If you're off-campus when you click on the database, you'll need to login with your Hamline username and password.  More information.