Skip to main content

APA (7th) Citation Style Guide

Books

 In the 7th edition of APA, cite both print and electronic books (available through academic databases) the same way.  
"Does the book have a DOI? Include a DOI if available. Do not include a URL or database information for works from academic research databases. Include a URL for ebooks from other websites. Do not put a period after the DOI or URL" 


Basic Template:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. Publisher. https://doi.org/XXXXXX

Book/ E Book

Example: 

Reid, S. (2002). Book bridges for ESL students: Using young adult and children's literature to teach ESL.

Scarecrow Press.


Book with DOI

Example:

 Elliott, R., Watson, J. C., Goldman, R. N., & Greenberg, L. S. (2004). Learning emotion-focused therapy: The process-

experiential approach to change. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/10725-000


Book with URL

Example:

Austin, M.H. (1903). The land of little rain. Houghton Mifflin Company. http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/365

Template

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year). Title of Book. Publisher.

Example:

Merriam, S. (Ed.). (2001). The new update on adult learning theory. Jossey-Bass.


Multiple Editors

Example:

Akers, R., & Jensen, G. (Eds.). (2002). Social learning theory and the explanation of crime : A guide for the new century.

Transaction.

Template

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of book (xth ed.). Publisher.

Example

Torp, L., & Sage, S. (2002). Problems as possibilities problem-based learning for K-12 education(2nd ed.).

ASCD.

Template
Author of Chapter, A. A. & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), 
Title of book (pp. xxx–xxx). Publisher.

 

Example:

Shephered, S. (1988). Shakespeare's private drawer: Shakespeare and homosexuality. In G. Holderness

(Ed.), The Shakespeare myth (pp. 96–110). Manchester University Press.

See   What's New?

Whole Anthology

Template
Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year). Title of book. Publisher.


Example:

Greene, D. & Lattis, R. (Eds.). (1975). The complete Minnesota tragedies. Main Street Press.


Work in an Anthology

Template

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of work. In A. A. Editor (Ed.), Title of book (pp. XX–XX)Publisher. (Original work published Year)

Example:

Ibsen, Henrik. (2002). A doll's house. In R. S. Gwynn (Ed.), Drama: A pocket anthology (2nd ed., pp. 209

277). Longman. (Original work published 1879)

Always look carefully for a byline/author; this is usually at either the beginning or the end of an entry.

With Entry Author

Template

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (xth ed., Vol. xx, pp. xxx–xxx). Publisher.


Example

Hodges, W. (2006). First-order logic. In D. M. Borchert (Ed.), The encyclopedia of philosophy 

(2nd ed., Vol. 3, pp. 639–659). Thomson Gale.


No Entry Author

Template

Title of entry. (Year). In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (xth ed., Vol. xx, pp. xxx–xxx). Publisher.

Example:

Southeast Asia. (2003). In The new encyclopaedia Britannica: Macropedia (15th ed., Vol. 27, pp. 711–794).

Encyclopaedia Britannica.


Entries in Online Encyclopedia
Note: If the author is the same as the website, omit the website component. If an encyclopedia is continuously updated and does not have an archived version, include the retrieval date.

Template

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In A. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (xx ed.). Website. http://xxxxx

Example: Individual Author

Masolo, D. (2006). African sage philosophy. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Fall 2008 ed.).

Stanford University. http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/african-sage/

Example: Group Author

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. (n.d.) Antisemitism. In Holocaust encyclopedia. Retrieved October 7, 2019, from

https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/antisemitism

Template

Author, A. A. (Year). Foreign title [Translated title]. Publisher.

Example: 

Paz, O. (1959). El laberinto de la soledad [The labyrinth of solitude]. Fondo de Cultura Económica.