Skip to main content

Find Library Resources

Use Databases & Articles to find:

  • subject-specific databases or a specific database like JSTOR or Project Muse
  • Journal articles on scholarly topics, written in an academic style by scholars
    TIP: For most college level papers, you should rely more heavily on scholarly articles

Use Books & eBooks to locate:

  • Academic books with extensive coverage of a topic, often with a bibliography
  • Reference books, including:
    • Dictionaries with definitions and etymologies of words
    • Encyclopedias with in-depth articles on many related topics

Use our Journals & Magazines page to find an article in a specific journal you already know the title of.

Use our Research & Course Guides page to find guidance and resources specific to a course or subject area.

Use our Course Reserves page to find materials assigned or recommended by faculty for a specific class.

Use our Media page to find films, images and audio recordings, including streaming media and DVDs you can borrow from the library.

Use our Data page to find specific sources of data.

Use our K-12 Curriculum Materials page to find picture books, children and young adult fiction and non-fiction, big books, reading/literacy kits, and K-12 textbooks.

Use our Capstones, Dissertations & Honors Projects to find scholarship created by Hamline students.

Use our Digital Collections page to find scholarly and archival collections hosted by the library.

Get help

Contact a Librarian for expert assistance with finding library resources for your paper or project.

Did you know?
You canwith a librarian to get help with your library research.