Collaboration / Global Citizenship Teaching & Learning

Online student projects can help students approach course content from a variety of perspectives --and using a variety of communication modes.

This chapter, Library Instruction for Digital Humanities Pedagogy in Undergraduate Classes (from Laying the Foundation: Digital Humanities in Academic Libraries) gives a great overview of Digital Scholarship Projects that the library can help you with. This includes:

• "Publishing" - multi-media exhibits, ebooks, and student journals
• Mapping

*FERPA Policy: consider giving students an option for anonymity or for a private or alternative platform --read: Guidelines for Public, Student Class Blogs: Ethics, Legalities, FERPA and More

Online publishing platforms can help students develop and apply multiple literacies, while displaying evidence of knowledge creation and learning connections. Working collaboratively, students can gather existing freely licensed materials to tell a story --or collect artifacts from the local community!

Librarians can help:

• connect you and your students to online archival collections (including Hamline's digital archival collections)
• students in organizing and adding descriptive labels to their online artifacts
• students understand copyright and licensing in an online environment (Finding and Citing Media Guide)
• guide you and your students in using online publishing platforms such as Pressbooks, Digital Commons, and Omeka
• students understand their own copyrights and licensing options
• students understand the context of information creation and scholarly communication

Check out these examples and tools:

Ebook Authoring with Pressbooks

• ​Sustainability Cookbook --Macalester student using Pressbooks for final course assignment
• Creating the Ending You Want: Peer Advice on Succeeding in LDRS 614-Change Leadership --Winona State collection of student essays
• A Guide to Making Open Textbooks with Students​ --consider incorporating students into the course material design for future classes --or an ongoing, living glossary (book created and published using Pressbooks)
• Pressbooks: Login or create an account (Also: Pressbooks Userguide)

Online Exhibits

• Bowling Green State University Student Digital Gallery: Student, collaborative online exhibits using Omeka; enter each exhibit to navigate to additional information about the student contributors or context of the class
• Remembering Rondo - A History Harvest: local Macalester student public history and community engagement project
• The Social Construction of Media: Social Media, Culture, and Everyday Life --student created "textbook" using Scalar; platform is non-linear and forces students to think about connections between various artifacts and topics

Student Journals

• Tapestries: Interwoven voices of local and global identities --example of a student produced journal at Macalester; senior students of an American Studies class make all of the submission and editorial/ peer review decisions for the journal
• Digital Commons@Hamline: our institutional repository with full journal submission, editorial approval, and online publishing workflow capabilities

See Library Digital Services for more examples and help​

Mapping projects can help students develop a deeper understanding of relationships between people, places, and time. Projects can be group, individual, private or public.

Librarians can help:

• connect you and your students to online archival collections (including Hamline's digital archival collections)
• students in organizing and adding descriptive labels to their online artifacts
• students understand copyright and licensing in an online environment (Finding and Citing Media Guide)

Check out these examples and tools:

• Minnesota State Fair Grounds on History Pin
• Slave Trade History  --Macalester student using StoryMapsJS
• A Student Project on Colonial Places --faculty description of project using Google My Maps

DiRT Directory (Digital Research Tools): A collection of tools for Digital Scholarship research --but many of the online tools may also support student scholarship. SEE: Collaboration and Publishing.

CATME: to help in creating student teams

Hypothes.is: online, community web annotation tool