Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

Locating & Accessing Primary Documents: Research Databases

Find and Access primary resources from U.S. Government websites, Bush Library Databases and CLICsearch.

Research Databases

Library Databases

Many of Bush Library Databases can be used to locate a variety of Primary Sources. You can determine which of the Library's Databases will provide access to primary resources. 

1. From the Library's Home Page, click on Databases in the FIND column.

2. Click on the Tab - Databases by Format.

3. From the list of format choices, click on Primary Sources.  This will bring up the list of Databases that provide access to various types of Primary Sources.

Once you have selected one of the Library Databases, you may be able to Search by Document Type in most Library Databases.  These Document Types include:

Book Reviews, Broadcast Transcripts, Congressional Testimony, Diary Entry, Excerpts, Executive Orders, Image, Interviews, Legislation, Letters, Literary Criticisms, Movie Reviews, Obituaries, Personal Accounts, Photographs, Poetry, Proceedings, Sound Recordings, Speeches, Statistical Data, Theater Reviews, Travel Narratives, Video Files.

Below are links to a few of the Research Databases that will provide significant access to Historical Documents.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Historical New York Times

ProQuest Historical Newspapers interface provides indexing and full image online archive of the entire New York Times newspaper back to 1851. The current 3 years is not found in this product.