It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music of the Middle East: Research the Music and Cultures
Goals: To acquaint students with the broad spectrum of musical systems and structures across the Middle East region, while simultaneously learning about social life and cultural production. Content: In the Middle East music has always been, and continues
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes
Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
Countries and Their Cultures is based on the collection of ethnographic information known as the Human Relations Area Files based at Yale University...All entries have the same structure, with sections on geography, history, demography, languages, food, economy, etiquette, politics, family, religion, and arts and humanities. A country's degree of cultural unity as well as its cultural variations are described in the sections on national identity, ethnic relations, and social stratification. Each entry has a map with a regional insert, black-and-white photographs, and a bibliography of recent scholarly books. "
The official journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology.
There is an embargo on the full text of articles published in the most recent 5 years. To get the full text, submit an Interlibrary Loan/ILLiad form to the library.
Provides a dynamic forum for the presentation of new thinking in the field of ethnomusicology, defined broadly as the study of "people making music", & encompasses the study of all music, including Western art music & popular music.
There is an embargo on the most recent 18 months of content. If there's an article you'd like that is not available online, fill out an Interlibrary/ILLIad request.
"Middle Eastern Studies has become required reading for all those with a serious concern in understanding the modern Middle East. Middle Eastern Studies provides the most up-to-date academic research on the history and politics of the Arabic-speaking countries in the Middle East and North Africa as well as on Turkey, Iran and Israel, particularly during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries."
"The International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, and Colloquia, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTM. "