Guides: ARCHIVED-Law Special Collections: Print Collections

Print Collections

In some special cases, we have identified collections of print materials. They may not be physically together in the library, so this guide will explain what the collections are and how to find them.

Angela M. McCaffrey

COLLECTION DESCRIPTION

Books from former law school professor Angela M. McCaffrey's personal collection, donated to the law school library by her family.

PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION

Print materials

LOCATION

All items are shelved with the general treatises collection.

CONTENTS

The books in the collection are about general legal topics and the legal implications of human rights. Search for the McCaffrey Collection.

David M. Cobin Slavery Collection

COLLECTION DESCRIPTION

Items about slavery donated to the law library by former law school professor David Cobin from his personal collection

PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION

Print materials

LOCATION

All items are shelved with the general treatises collection

CONTENTS

Search for the Cobin Collection.

LSAC Reports Collection

The Law Library has a collection of over 150 research and technical reports from the Law School Admission Council. If you wish to see a full list of these reports in the catalog, click here: LSAC Reports at Hamline Law Library

We have the following reports:

An analysis of differential validity and differential prediction for black, Mexican American, hispanic, and white law school students / Linda F. Wightman, David G. Muller. by 1990
This study was designed to address questions of differential validity and questions of differential prediction in the law school admission process.
Self-reported methods of test preparation used by LSAT takers : a summary of responses from June and September 1989 test takers / Linda F. Wightman. by 1990
This report summarizes self-reported information about the kinds and extent of test preparation used by LSAT takers.
The validity of law school admission test scores for repeaters : a replication / Linda F. Wightman. by 1990
Fair and accurate treatment of multiple test scores for law-school applicants who take the Law School Admission Test more than one time is the subject of a current study so as to reexamine the validity and predictive accuracy of the different scores that are presented by repeat test takers.
The effects of dimensionality on true score conversion tables for the law school admission test / Gregory Camilli, Ming-mei Wang, Jaqueline Fesq. by 1992
This study examines the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) to see if the items on a form could be divided into different subgroups where items looked statistically similar within the subgroups, but statistically different between subgroups.
Legal education at the close of the twentieth century : descriptions and analyses of students, financing, and professional expectations and attitudes / Linda F. Wightman. by 1995
This report is the first in a series that will be developed from a national longitudinal study of legal education and entry into the profession that is sponsored by the Law School Admission Council (LSAC).
Women in legal education : a comparison of the law school performance and law school experiences of women and men / Linda F. Wightman. by 1996
Though women have made tremendous strides in increasing their physical presence in legal education, several studies suggest that women continue to feel alienated and estranged in this once exclusively male environment. The study here responds to some of those criticisms.
Computer usage and access patterns of actual and potential LSAT takers (Online);'Computer usage and access patterns of actual and potential LSAT takers [electronic resource] / Susan M. Jenkins, Samantha D. Holmes.' by 1997
As part of a larger study exploring the advisability and feasibility of administering the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) by computer, the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) is investigating the computer usage and access patterns of actual and potential LSAT takers. The results of this study indicate that, as expected, more than 85% of participants reported being at least somewhat comfortable using a computer, using a computer at least once a week, and having at least weekly access to a computer.
Computer usage and access patterns of actual and potential LSAT takers / Susan M. Jenkins, Samantha D. Holmes. by 1997
This paper describes the overall levels of computer comfort, usage, and access for a sample of 2,836 actual and potential LSAT takers.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by racial/ethnic subgroups / Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese, Peter J. Pashley. by 1998
This study was designed to address questions of differential prediction in the law school admission process for various racial/ethnic subgroups.
Law school admissions, 1985 to 1995 : assessing the effect of application volume / Charles Longley. by 1998
This paper examines the volume of applications filed for full-time admission to American Bar Association (ABA)-approved law schools between 1985 and 1995.
LSAC national longitudinal bar passage study / Linda F. Wightman. by 1998
This study presents national longitudinal bar passage data gathered from the class that started law school in fall 1991.
LSAT item-type validity study / Louis A. Roussos, Lynne L. Norton. by 1998
This study was conducted to evaluate the predictive validity and the interrelationships of the current LSAT item types. The current LSAT consists of three item types: analytical reasoning (AR), logical reasoning (LR), and reading comprehension (RC).
LSAT performance with regional, gender, and racial/ethnic breakdowns / Deborah L. Schnipke, Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese. by 1998
The purpose of this report is to provide summary information about Law School Admission Test (LSAT) performance for test takers classified by country, region of the United States, gender, race/ethnicity, and race/ethnicity within gender.
Who gets the app? : explaining law school application volume, 1993 to 1996 / Charles Longley. by 1998
In recent years there has been a steady decline in the number of applicants filed for full-time admission to American Bar Association (ABA)-approved law schools. This study seeks to determine what explains interinstitutional variation in application volume for the years 1993 to 1996.
A Bayesian method for the detection of item preknowledge in CAT / Lori D. McLeod, Charles Lewis and David Thissen. by 1999
The goals of this study include examining test taker success at achieving test score inflation when using item preknowledge and the feasibility of using an odds ration index as a tool for test security.
A classical test theory perspective on LSAT local item dependence / Lynda M. Reese. by 1999
This study extends past Law School Admission Council (LSAT) research related to the item response theory (IRT) local item independence assumption into the realm of classical test theory.
A comparison testlet-based test designs for computerized adaptive testing / Deborah L. Schnipke and Lynda M. Reese. by 1999
This study incorporates testlets (bundles of items) into two-stage and multistage designs, and compares the precision of the ability estimates derived from these designs with those derived from a standard CAT design and from paper-and-pencil test designs. Results indicate that all testlet-based designs resulted in improved precision over the same-length paper-and-pencil test, and almost as much precision as the paper-and-pencil test of double length.
An evaluation of a two-stage testlet design for computerized testing / Lynda M. Reese and Deborah L. Schnipke. by 1999
This simulation study evaluated the efficiency of a two-stage testlet design as compared with that achieved by a standard computer-adaptive test administration and a paper-and-pencil test. The precision of the ability estimates derived from a 25-item two-stage testlet design was compared to those estimates derived from a standard CAT of 25-items and both a 25-item and a 50-item paper-and-pencil test. The results indicate that if the testlets are carefully assembled, the 25-item two-stage testlet design results in greater precision than a 50-item paper-and-pencil test.
An overview of nonlinear factor analysis and its relationship to item response theory / Andre F. De Champlain. by 1999
The purpose of this report is to provide a brief overview of research that has examined the relationship between item response theory (IRT) and nonlinear factor analysis (NLFA), emphasizing their major strengths and weaknesses for practical applications.
Assessing subgroup differences in item response times / Deborah L. Schnipke and Peter J. Pashley. by 1999
The goal of this study is to investigate methodology for assessing subgroup differences in response-time rates.
Assessing the dimensionality of simulated LSAT item response matrices with small sample sizes and short test lengths / Andre F. De Champlian. by 1999
The purpose of this study was to examine empirical Type I error rates and rejection rates for three dimensionality assessment procedures with datasets simulated to reflect short tests and small samples.
Computerized adaptive testing simulations using real test taker responses / Xiang Bo Wang, Wei Qin Pan and Vincent Harris. by 1999
The purpose of this study was to use original ability estimates of 969 Law School Admission Test (LSAT) takers obtained from their paper-and-pencil (P&P) LSAT to see how well simple computerized adaptive testing (CAT) sessions could recover them.
Crafting an incoming law school class : preliminary results / Peter J. Pashley and Andrea E. Thorton. by 1999
Most law schools attempt to attract and admit those applicants who will be most likely to succeed at that law school. The measures most often used to predict applicants' success in law school are their Law School Admission Test (LSAT) scores and undergraduate grade-point averages (UGPAs) or some combination of these variables. Other measures may also be useful in predicting success at particular law schools.
Exploring issues of test taker behavior : insights gained from response-time analyses / Deborah L. Schnikpe [sic] and David J. Scrams. by 1999
In 1995, the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) began a five-year plan to research the advisability and feasibility of administering the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) by computer. The research plan is summarized in the Computerized LSAT Research Agenda. The Research Agenda suggests that the unobtrusive recording of item response times is one of the many advantages offered by computerized test administration.
Impact of local item dependence on item response theory scoring in CAT / Lynda M. Reese by 1999
This study represents a first evaluation of the impact of LID (local item dependence) for IRT (item response theory) scoring in CAT (computerized adaptive testing).
Impact of local item dependence on true-score equating / Lynda M. Reese and Peter J. Pashley. by 1999
This study investigated the practical effects of local item dependence (LID) on item response theory (IRT) true-scoring equating.
Incorporating content constraints into a multi-stage adaptive testlet design / Lynda M. Reese, Deborah L. Schnipke, and Stephen W. Luebke. by 1999
This study first evaluated whether realistic content constraints would be met by carefully assembling testlets and appropriately selecting testlets for each test taker that, when combined, would meet the content requirements of the test and would be adapted to the test taker's ability level. Second, the precision of the content balanced testlet design was compared with that achieved by the current paper-and-pencil version of the test through data simulation. The results revealed that constraints to control for item exposure, testlet overlap, and efficient pool utilization need to be incorporated into the testlet assembly algorithm.
Item theft in a continuous-testing environment : what is the extent of the danger? / Deborah L. Schnipke and David J. Scrams. by 1999
The present study explores the dangers of item theft in terms of impact on test quality and fairness.
LSAT dimensionality analysis for the December 1991, June 1992, and October 1992 administrations / Jeff Douglas ... [et al.] by 1999
An extensive nonparametric dimensionality analysis of latent structure was conducted on the December 1991, June 1992, and October 1992 Law School Admission Tests (LSATs) using DIMTEST in confirmatory analyses and using DIMTEST, FAC, DETECT, HCA, PROX, and a genetic alogrithm in exploratory analyses. The results indicate that the LSAT displays a moderate amount of multidimensionality.
Making use of response times in standardized tests : are accuracy and speed measuring the same thing? / David J. Scrams and Deborah L. Schnipke. by 1999
The present work addresses how response accuracy and response speed are related.
Modeling item response times with a two-state mixture model : a new approach to measuring speededness / Deborah L. Schnipke and David J. Scrams. by 1999
The Law School Admission Council (LSAC) is currently researching the feasibility and advisability of administering the LSAT on computer. If the LSAT is transferred to a computer-administered format, the methodology developed in this paper will be useful for providing an accurate measure of speededness on the LSAT.
On giving test takers a choice among constructive response times / Xiang Bo Wang. by 1999
Law School Admission Council (LSAC) is currently investigating the feasibility and advisability of administering a computerized Law School Admission Test (LSAT). The purpose of the study is to address some fundamental issues - how test takers actually choose CR items on a test and how their choices impact their performances.
On testing for assumption recognition / Gilbert E. Plumer. by 1999
This paper proposes and defends criteria for determining necessary assumptions of arguments. Both theoretical and empirical considerations are brought to bear.
Predictive validity of the LSAT : a national summary of the 1995-1996 correlation studies / Lisa C. Anthony, Vincent F. Harris, and Peter J. Pashley. by 1999
This report examines the validity of the use of the LSAT for use in the law school admission process.
Predictive validity of the LSAT : a national summary of the 1997-1998 correlation studies / Lisa C. Anthony, Jennifer R. Duffy, Lynda M. Reese. by 1999
This report examines the validity of the use of the LSAT for use in the law school admission process.
Representing response-time information in item banks / Deborah L. Schnipke and David J. Scrams. by 1999
The goal of the present study was to develop a method for summarizing response-time information both accurately and concisely.
Testing for structure recognition / Gilbert E. Plumer. by 1999
This paper attempts to construct an adequate and appropriate representation of...the logical structure that an argument is perceived to have by mature reasoners, albeit ones who are untrained in logic.
The influence of speededness on item-parameter estimation / Deborah L. Schnipke. by 1999
When running out of time on a multiple-choice test such as the Law School Admission Test (LSAT), some test takers are likely to respond rapidly to the remaining unanswered items in an attempt to get some items right by chance. Becuase these responses will tend to be incorrect, the presence of rapid guessing behavior could cause these items to appear more difficult that they really are. Using simulated data, the present study found that when rapid-guessing behavior is present, items appear more difficult and less discriminating than they really are.
The validity of law school admission test scores for repeaters : a replication / Susan P. Dalessandro and Lori D. McLeod. by 1999
The fair and accurate treatment of multiple-test scores for law school applicants who take the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) more than once is the focus of this study.
Understanding psychological processes that underlie test takers' choices of constructed response items / Xiang Bo Wang. by 1999
It has been found repeatedly that when test takers are allowed to choose a subset of constructed response (CR) items to answer on a test, they tend to choose differently and often perform lower on more popularly chosen items. The purpose of this study is to find the psychological factors that influence test takers' choices.
A comparison of Mantel-Haenszel differential item functioning parameters / Deborah L. Schnipke, Louis A. Roussos, and Peter J. Pashley. by 2000
The purpose of the present study is to compare the proposed Mantel-Haenszel (MH) differential item functioning (DIF) parameters in order to determine which parameter most accurately captures the MH DIF statistic's behavior.
A formulation of the Mantel-Haenszel differential item functioning parameter with practical implications / Louis A. Roussos, Deborah L. Schnipke, and Peter J. Pashley. by 2000
The Mantel-Haenszel (MH) differential item functioning (DIF) parameter for uniform DIF is well defined when item responses follow the two-parameter-logistic (2PL) item response function (IRF), but not when they follow the three-parameter-logistic (3PL) IRF, the model typically used with multiple-choice items. This research report presents a general formulation of the MH DIF population parameter for any IRF and presents results for numerous 3PL uniform DIF conditions. The results indicate that for items of medium or high difficulty, the 2PL DIF parameter formulation can overestimate the 3PL DIF parameter and the MH DIF estimator may exhibit less than expected power to identify even substantial DIF in certain situations.
A review of the LSAT using literature on legal reasoning / Gilbert E. Plumber [i.e. Plumer]. by 2000
In 1995 the Law School Admission Council implemented a five-year research agenda to examine the feasibility and advisability of computerizing the Law School Admission Test (LSAT). This report presents the findings of this research.
An integer-programming approach to item pool design / Wim J. van der Linden ... [et al.]. by 2000
The method described in this paper presents an integer-programming approach to item pool design that can be used to calculate an optimal blueprint for an item pool to support an existing testing program.
Beyond FYA : analysis of the utility of LSAT scores and UGPA for predicting academic success in law school / Linda F. Wightman. by 2000
This study was designed to examine questions about the validity and utility of two commonly used predictors of academic success in law school, LSAT score and UGPA, when the criterion measure is grade point average at the completeion of law school (cumulative LGPA).
Detection of person misfit in computerized adaptive testing with polytomous items / Rob R. Meijer, Edith M.L.A. van Krimpen-Stoop. by 2000
In the present study we will explore the use of person-fit statistics both for paper-and-pencil (P&P) tests and for computerized adaptive testing (CAT).
LSAT performance with regional, gender, and racial/ethnic breakdowns : 1993-1994 through 1999-2000 testing years / Susan P. Dalessandro, Lisa A. Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese. by 2000
The purpose of this report is to provide summary information about Law School Admission Test (LSAT) performance for test takers classified by country, region of the United States, gender, race/ethnicity, and race/ethnicity within gender.
Survey results from the computerized LSAT prototype testing at the 1999 Law School Recruitment Forums / Kimberly A. Swygert, Jennifer A. Lawlor, Kira Velikopolsky. by 2000
This paper addresses one aspect of the second phase of a research study series concerning the development of an acceptable prototype for a computerized Law School AdmissionTest (LSAT).
The performance of repeat test takers on the Law School Admission Test : 1994-1995 through 2000-2001 testing years / Jennifer Duffy ... [et al.] by 2001
The purpose of this report is to provide an update of summary information about the percentage and performance of repeat test takers on the Law School Admission Test (LSAT).
Juggling it all : exploring lawyers' work, home, and family demands and coping strategies : report of stage one findings / Jean E. Wallace. by 2002
Results of telephone interviews with 121 lawyers in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, conducted in the fall of 1999.
LSAT performance with regional, gender, and racial/ethnic breakdowns : 1995-1996 through 2001-2002 testing years / Susan P. Dalessandro, Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese. by 2002
The purpose of this report is to provide summary information about Law School Admission Test (LSAT) performance for test takers classified by country, region of the United States, gender, race/ethnicity, and race/ethnicity within gender.ΓÇ¥
Routing rules for multiple-form structures / Ronald D. Armstrong. by 2002
This paper concentrates on the routing aspect of the multiple forms structure (MFS) approach to computerized testing.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by racial/ethnic subgroups based on the 1996-1998 entering law school classes / Lisa C. Anthony, Mei Liu. by 2003
This study was designed to address questions of differential prediction of law school grades for various racial/ethnic minority subgroups.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by racial/ethnic subgroups based on the 1999 -2001 entering law school classes / Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Peter J. Pashley. by 2003
This study was designed to address questions of differential prediction of law school grades for various racial/ethnic subgroups.
Empirical Bayes enhancement of Mantel-Haenszel DIF analysis for computer-adaptive tests / Rebecca Zwick, Dorothy T. Thayer. by 2003
This report addresses the role of Bayesian methods in psychometrics and education research. It also describes the EB DIF model and presents some of the issues that had to be considered in applying the EB methods to CATs; describes the simulation study that was designed to investigate the CAT DIF procedures; presents the analyses and results; and finally, provides a discussion of the findings and outlines our ideas for future research.
Final report : LSAC skills analysis: law school task survey / Stephen W. Luebke ... [et al.] by 2003
The goal of this survey is to identify the skills that are important for success in law school and the relationships among those skills. This information provides validity evidence for the current Law School Admission Test (LSAT) and will guide the development of new item types, item formats, and test specifications for future versions of the LSAT, including possible computerized versions.
LSAT listening assessment : theoretical background and specifications / Kenneth Olson. by 2003
It is clear that listening is one of the skills that is important for success in law school, a conclusion that has recently been bolstered by the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) Skills Analysis Study. Since the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) seeks to test such skills, a prima facie case can be made that the test should contain a measure of listening. A first step in constructing such a measure is determining what it is going to test, which is the subject of this report.
On the use of collateral item response information to improve pretest item calibration / William Stout ... [et al.]. by 2003
This study evaluates the practical benefit (if any) of using collateral information from one item type when statistically analyzing pretest items of some other item type.
Quality control of online calibration in computerized assessment / C. A. W. Glas. by 2003
In this paper it is proposed that methods of quality control be used in the calibration process, for example, to check if the values of the item parameters have not drifted between the pretest and the online stage.
Small sample estimation in dichotomous item response models : effect of priors based on judgmental information on the accuracy of item parameter estimates / Hariharan Swaminathan ... [et al.]. by 2003
This report consists of a brief review of item response models and the issues that surround the estimation of item parameters. The procedure for incorporating prior information is described. The design of the study for investigating the relationship between sample size and prior information is described. The results of the study are presented and the implications for estimating parameters are discussed.
The road to law school and beyond : examining challenges to racial and ethnic diversity in the legal profession / Gita Z. Wilder. by 2003
The objective of this article is to identify places along the path to the legal profession at which members of minority groups are most likely to fall by the wayside.
The use of statistical process control-charts for person-fit analysis in computerized adaptive testing / Rob R. Meijer, Edith M. L. A. van Krimpen-Stoop. by 2003
In this paper, serveral new fit statistics especially designed for CAT were studied.
Using response-time constraints in item selection to control for differential speededness in computerized adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden, David J. Scrams, Deborah L. Schnipke. by 2003
Test takers with the same ability differ in the amount of time they need to complete a test item. Therefore, some test takers may be affected unfavorably by the presesnce of a time limit on a test. This paper proposes an item-selection algorithm that can be used to neutralize the effect of time limits in the computer adaptive testing.
A report on the inclusion of diverse speakers on the LSAT listening comprehension assessment : a survey of the literature with recommendations / Stephanie M. Strassel. by 2004
This study was undertaken to evaluate LSAC's preliminary plan to include speakers who are identifably African American and Hispanic in the listening comprehension assessment.
Investigating the quality of items in CAT using nonparametric IRT / Rob R. Meijer. by 2004
The aim of the present study is to illustrate the usefulness of NIRT for designing good item pools.
Juggling it all : a study of lawyers' work, home, and family demands and coping strategies : report of stage two findings / Jean E. Wallace. by 2004
Results of a questionnaire survey of 1,799 lawyers practicing law in the province of Alberta, conducted in the summer of 2000.
Speed as a variable on the LSAT and law school exams / William D. Henderson. by 2004
This study examines the hypothesis that test-taking speed is a variable that affects performance on both the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) and actual law school exams.
A Bayesian approach to item calibration and evaluation of parameter drift / Cees A.W. Glas. by 2005
Three approaches for evaluating differences between the parameter estimates of pretest and online phase were evaluated. These approaches included Lagrange Multiplier (LM) statistic, a marginal maximum likelihood (MML) statistic, and a Wald statistic and cumulative sum (CUSUM) statistic.
A comparison of item-selection methods for adaptive tests with content constraints / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2005
Three main item-selection methods in adaptive testing are investigated.
A method to determine targets for multi-stage adaptive tests / Ronald Armstrong, Louis Roussos. by 2005
The objective of this paper is to present a method to determine targets for the multi-stage adaptive test (MST) design based on an item pool and an assumed distribution of test taker ability.
A simulation study of optimal online calibration of testlets using real data / Douglas H. Jones, Mikhail S. Nediak. by 2005
This research investigates new ways to estimate the characteristics of pretest items, grouped by their relation to a reading passage or other common stimulus.
Adaptive mastery testing using the Rasch model and Bayesian sequential decision theory / Cees A.W. Glas, Hans J. Vos. by 2005
In this paper, a version of sequential mastery testing is studied where response behavior is modeled by an item response theory (IRT) model.
Applications of uniform test assembly for the LSAT / Dmitry Belov. by 2005
This paper presents proof that the mixed integer programming approach cannot guarantee uniformity of the sampling, and goes on to formulate a test assembly algorithm that assures a uniform sampling.
Computer use and preferences among LSAT takers / Ann Gallagher ... [et al.]. by 2005
The goal of this report is to use ...data to inform the legal education community regarding (a) students' comfort level using a compter, (b) the extent to which potential law school students have access to computers and the Internet, and (c) which aspects of a computerized LSAT candidates would find most desirable.
Constraining item exposure in computerized adaptive testing with shadow tests / Wim J. van der Linden, Bernard P. Veldkamp. by 2005
In this paper, an alternative to the currently widely applied Sympson-Hetter item exposure control method is presented, which is based on decisions about the eligibililty of the items in the pool before test taker takes the test.
Equating an adaptive test to a linear test / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2005
Two new methods for the equating of an adaptive test to a linear test are presented. The methods are based on the conditional distributions of the observed scores on the two tests, given the examinee's ability.
Implementing content constraints in alpha-stratified adaptive testing using a shadow test approach / Wim J. van der Linden, Hua-Hua Chang. by 2005
This paper addresses the problems of item compromise and content balancing in computerized adaptive testing (CAT).
Item parameter calibration of LSAT items using MCMC approximation of Bayes posterior distributions / Douglas H. Jones, Mikhail Nediak. by 2005
This paper develops new item and ability proposal densities for the Metropolis-Hastings algorithm. It is shown that new proposal densities greatly increase the efficiency of the algorithm.
LSAT performance with regional, gender, and racial/ethnic breakdowns : 1997-1998 through 2003-2004 testing years / Susan P. Dalessandro, Lisa A. Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese. by 2005
The purpose of this report is to provide summary information about Law School Admission Test (LSAT) performance for test takers classified by country, region of the United States, gender, race/ethnicity, and race/ethnity within gender.
Outlier detection in high-stakes college entrance testing / Rob R. Meijer. by 2005
In this study we discuss recent developments of person-fit analysis in the context of computerized adaptive testing (CAT).
Predictive validity of the LSAT : a national summary of the 1999-2000 correlation studies / Andrea E. Thornton ... [et al.]. by 2005
This report examines the validity of the use of the LSAT for use in the law school admission process.
Predictive validity of the LSAT : a national summary of the 2001-2002 correlation studies / Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Susan P. Dalessandro, Lynda M. Reese. by 2005
This report examines the validity of the use of the LSAT for use in the law school admission process.
Predictive validity of the LSAT : a national summary of the 2003-2004 correlation studies / Susan Diamond-Dalessandro, Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese. by 2005
This report examines the validity of the use of the LSAT for use in the law school admission process.
Robustness of person-fit decisions in computerized adaptive testing / Rob R. Meijer. by 2005
This paper applies different types of person-fit analysis in a computer adaptive testing context and investigates the robustness of several methods to multidimensional test data.
Simple nonparametric checks for model data fit in CAT / Rob R. Meijer. by 2005
In this paper, the usefulness of several nonparametric checks is discussed in a computerized adaptive testing (CAT) context.
Simultaneous assembly of multiple test forms / Wim J. van der Linden, Jos J. Adema. by 2005
The present paper formulates a heuristic in which a simultaneous assembly problem is reformulated as a series of computationally less intensive two-form problems that can be solved as fast as in a sequential approach.
Summary of self-reported methods of test preparation by LSAT takers for testing years 1997-1998 through 1999-2000 / Andrea E. Thornton, Lynda M. Reese by 2005
This study summarizes self-reported test preparation for Law School Admission Test (LSAT) takers for the 1997-1998 through 1999-2000 testing years.
Summary of self-reported methods of test preparation by LSAT takers for testing years 2000-2001 through 2002-2003 / Andrea E. Thornton, Deborah A. Suto, Lynda M. Reese by 2005
This study summarizes self-reported test preparation methods for Law School Admission Test (LSAT) takers for the 2000-2001 and 2002-2003 testing years.
Survey and usability testing results of the analytical reasoning computerized prototype at the 2000 law school recruitment forums / Kimberly A. Swygert, Susan P. Dalessandro, Mike Contreras. by 2005
This paper addresses the third phase of a research study series concerning the development of a prototype for a computerized Law School Admission Test (LSAT). This research involves the refinement of the 1999 prototypes and further usability testing on these prototypes.
The impact of item parameter estimation on computerized adaptive testing with item cloning / Cees A.W. Glas. by 2005
This research presents a solution that accounts for the uncertainty in the item parameter estimates, thereby resolving the problem of capitalization on item parameter estimation errors. A simulation study is presented to illustrate how the method neutralizes the effect of capitalization on errors in item parameter estimates.
The performance of repeat test takers on the law school admission test: : 1997-1998 through 2003-2004 testing years / Andrea E. Thornton ... [et al.]. by 2005
The purpose of this report is to provide an update of summary information about the percentage and performance of repeat test takers on the Law School Admission Test (LSAT).
The use of person-fit statistics in computerized adaptive testing / Rob R. Meijer, Edith M.L.A. van Krimpen-Stoop. by 2005
In this paper, three different simulation studies are reported. Each study simulated the use of a frequently used person-fit statistic, namely the standardized log-likelihood staistic 1z.
The validity of law school admission test scores for repeaters : 1997 through 2000 entering law school classes / Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Andrea E. Thornton, Peter J. Pashley. by 2005
The current study examines the differential validity and predictive accuracy of different test scores that are presented by repeat test takers.
Using patterns of summed scores in paper-and pencil tests and CAT to detect misfitting item score patterns / Rob R. Meijer. by 2005
In this paper, person-fit statistics based on the likelihood of the number-correct scores on subsets of items in a computerized adaptive test are studied.
Using response times to detect aberrant responses in computerized adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden, Edith M.L.A. van Krimpen-Stoop. by 2005
In this paper, response times are used to detect possible aberrancies in the examinees' behavior during a test.
Using the Internet to survey college students about their law school plans / Stephen S. Meinhold and Dennis W. Gleiber. by 2005
Very little is known about the potential pool of law school applicants from which eventual law school attendees come. This is primarily due to the difficulty of collecting systematic information from the college students that make up this group. Large scale surveys of college students are both difficult and expensive and are frequently limited by their cross-sectional design. The increasing technological sophistication of college students and recent improvements in electronic surveys raises the question of whether the Internet - via e-mail and the web-can be used to conduct a large scale survey of the postgraduate plans of college students.
A formal characterization of and some alternatives to Sympson-Hetter item-exposure control in computerized adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
This report looks at the Sympson and Hetter method of item-exposure control in computerized adaptive testing CAT).
A method for determining the maximum number of nonoverlapping linear test forms that can be assembled from an item pool / Ronald Armstrong, Dmitry Belov. by 2006
A valuable resource for any testing agency is its item pool. This paper considers the problem of assembling the maximum number of nonoverlapping linear test forms from an item pool.
A polynomial logistic regression approach to graphical differential item functioning / Lori D. McLeod, David J. Scrams, Louis A. Roussos. by 2006
Performance on the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) and similar admissions tests may influence high-stakes decisions. The importance placed on these test scores demands high quality, so the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) carefully monitors the LSAT. One of the many statistical item characteristics examined is evidence of differential item functioning (DIF).
A stochastic search for test assembly, item pool analysis, and design / Dmitry Belov, Ronald D. Armstrong. by 2006
This paper demonstrates that a stochastic search technique allows for the solution of various item pool analysis and design problems.
Adaptive testing with equated number-correct scoring / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
In this study, a method of constrained item selection for CAT was proposed that allows for automatic equating of the number-correct scores to those on a reference test.
Alternative approaches to updating item parameter estimates in tests with item cloning / Cees A.W. Glas. by 2006
The current study compares two procedures for updating the parameter estimates for an item bank consisting of cloned items calibrated under the item cloning model (ICM).
An evaluation of the impact of cloning on item parameters / Kimberly A. Swygert ... [et al.]. by 2006
In this study, previously administered LSAT items were cloned using several different techniques and then readministered in an operation paper-and-pencil (P&P) setting.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by gender subgroups / Victor F. Harris, Louis A. Roussos, Peter J. Pashley. by 2006
The purpose of this study is to address questions of differential prediction between male and female first-year law school students based on data from the 1993, 1994, and 1995 first-year classes of 159 law schools.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by gender subgroups based on the 1996-1998 entering law school classes / Jennifer R. Duffy, Louis A. Roussos. by 2006
The purpose of this study is to address questions of differential prediction between male and female first-year law students based on data from the 1996, 1997, and 1998 entering classes of 167 law schools.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by gender subgroups based on the 1999-2001 entering law school classes / Jennifer R. Duffy, Peter J. Pashley. by 2006
The purpose of this study is to address questions of differential prediction between male and female first-year law school students based on data from the 1999, 2000, and 2001 entering classes of 177 law schools.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by racial/ethnic subgroups : based on 2002-2004 entering law school classes / Lynne L. Norton, Deborah A. Suto, Lynda M. Reese. by 2006
The present study is part of an ongoing monitoring effort designed to address the following question: do either of the traditional predictors of first-year law school performance - LSAT and undergraduate grade point average (UGPA) - or the combination of both of these predictors result in differential prediction for minority applicants?
Capitalization on item calibration error in adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden, Cees A.W. Glas. by 2006
In this paper, the problem is explored for adaptive testing both through an informal analysis and an empirical study using simulated data.
Computerized adaptive testing with item cloning / Cees A.W. Glas, Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
The current paper is based on the expectation that though item cloning techniques are still improving, some degree of within-family variability between item parameters will always remain.
Computerized adaptive testing with multiple form structures / Ronald D. Armstrong ... [et. al.]. by 2006
This paper provides an overview of methods that have been developed to generate parallel multiple form structures (MFSs). The approach is applied to the assembly of an experimental computerized Law School Admission Test (LSAT).
Cross validating item parameter estimation in adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden, Cees A. W. Glas. by 2006
The goal of this study was to investigate the effects of an attempt to neutralize the consequences of capitalization on estimation error through an application of the technique of cross validation of item parameter estimation.
Detecting items that have been memorized / Lori D. McLeod, Deborah L. Schnipke. by 2006
This research explores the development and use of a fit index to detect items that have been memorized so these items may be removed from the item pool while leaving secure items in the pool.
Detection of advance item knowledge using response times in computer adaptive testing / Rob R. Meijer, Leonardo S. Sotaridona. by 2006
In this paper, the use of information obtained from response times for detecting item security problems is investigated.
Evaluating equating error in observed-score equating / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
The problems of using test equating to adjust for differences in difficulty between two forms of the same test are examined.
Exploring new methods to detect person misfit in CAT / Rob R. Meijer, Edith M.L.A. van Krimpen-Stoop. by 2006
In this study, new person-fit statistics were proposed and critical values for their application in statistical tests to detect person misfit in CAT were derived from statistical theory.
Formal usability testing of the computerized LSAT prototypes at the 1999 law school recruitment forums / Kimberly A. Swygert, Jennifer A. Lawlor, Kir Shteinberg. by 2006
This paper describes the usability tests that were conducted on the Law School Admission Test (LSAT) prototypes developed during 1999, and represents the second phase of computer adaptive test (CAT) prototype development research.
Group learning contexts and processes within law schools / Dorothy H. Evensen. by 2006
The results of a study over a three-year period the understand the operations and outcomes of study groups in law schools.
Kernel-smoothed DIF detection procedure for computerized adaptive tests / Ratna Nandakumar, Julie Cwikla Banks, Louis Roussos. by 2006
Discusses an investigation into the options of computerizing Law School Admission Tests.
LSAT performance with regional, gender, and racial/ethnic breakdowns : 1999-2000 through 2005-2006 testing years / Susan P. Dalessandro, Laura A. Marcus, Lynda M. Reese. by 2006
The purpose of this report is to provide summary information about Law School Admission Test (LSAT) performance for test takers classified by country, region of the United States, gender, race/ethnicity, and race/ethnicity within gender.ΓÇ¥
Modeling variability in item parameters in educational measurement / Cees A.W. Glas, Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
This research investigated a method for modeling item parameters as random rather than fixed.
Modifying existing dimensionality assessment tools for use in a CAT environment / Amy Goodwin Froelich, William Stout, Terry Ackerman. by 2006
The primary purpose of the research was to convert two existing nonparametric dimensionality assesment tools, DIMTEST...and HCA/CCPROX...for use in an LSAT-CAT environment and to evaluate their performance.
Normal models for response times on test items / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
In this paper, we investigate alternative response-time models based on normal distribution.
Optimal assembly of tests with item sets / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2006
Six methods for assembling tests from a pool with an item-set structure are presented.
Some new methods to detect person fit in CAT / Rob R. Meijer, Edith M.L.A. van Krimpen-Stoop. by 2006
In this study, we will first review some existing person-fit studies in a computerized adaptive testing (CAT) context and then investigate the usefulness of some new fit statistics that are based on the specific characteristics of a CAT.
Summary of self-reported methods of test preparation by LSAT takers for testing years 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 / Andrea E. Thornton, Deborah A. Suto, Lynda M. Reese. by 2006
This study summarizes self-reported test preparation methods for Law School Admission Test (LSAT) takers for the 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 testing years.
Survey results from demonstration of the preliminary computerized LSAT prototypes at the 1995-1998 law school recruitment forums / Kimberly A. Swygert, Andrea E. Thornton. by 2006
This paper is part of the ongoing research endeavor to investigate the feasibility and advisability of computerized testing (CT) for the Law School Admission Test (LSAT).
Testlet-based adaptive mastery testing / Cees A. W. Glas, Hans J. Vos. by 2006
The focus of this study was on a combination of sequential mastery testing (SMT) and adaptive mastery testing (AMT).
The impact of item location effects on ability estimation in CAT : a simulation study / Mei Liu, Renbang Zhu, Fanmin Guo. by 2006
The purpose of this study was to evaluate the impact of item difficulty shift on ability estimation in CAT as a result of change in item delivery positions from pretest to operational administrations.
The validity of law school admission test scores for repeaters : 2001 through 2004 entering law school classes / Andrea E. Thornton, Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Lynda M. Reese. by 2006
This study examines the validity of most recent, highest, or average Law School Admission Test (LSAT) scores in terms of predicting first-year law school grades.
Theoretical formula for statistical bias in CATSIB DIF estimator due to discretization of the ability scale / Louis Roussos, Ratna Nandakumar, Julie Cwikla Banks. by 2006
As part of the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) research program to determine the advisability and feasibility of developing a computerized version of the Law School Admission Test (LSAT), a statistical procedure for detecting differential item functioning (DIF) in a computerized testing situation has been developed. The procedure, called CATSID, is further investigated in the current paper.
Violations of ignorability in computerized adaptive testing / Cees A.W. Glas. by 2006
Using auxilary information and allowing item review in computerized adaptive testing produces a violation of the ignorability principle for missing data...that may bias parameter estimates in IRT models. However, the violation of ignorability does not automatically lead to bias. In this report, two situations are distinguished.
Analysis of differential prediction of law school performance by gender subgroups : based on the 2002-2004 entering law school classes / Deborah A. Suto, Lynne L. Norton, Lynda M. Reese. by 2007
The purpose of this study is to address questions of differential prediction between male and female first-year law school students based on data from the 2002, 2003, and 2004 entering classes of 183 law schools.
Predictive control of speededness in adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2007
In this research, we explore the behavior of a method of controlling differential speededness in adaptive testing that is based on predictions of test taker response times for the available items in the computerized adaptive testing (CAT) item pool.
A bivariate lognormal response-time model for the detection of collusion between test takers / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2009
A bivariate lognormal model for the distribution of the response times (RTs) on a test by a pair of test takers is presented. As the model has parameters for the item effects on the RTs, its correlation parameter automatically corrects for the spuriousness in the observed correlation between the RTs of different test takers due to variation in the time intensities of the items.
A study of structural modeling using plausible value imputation / Cees A. W. Glas, Hanneke Geerlings. by 2009
The goal of this study is to compare the power of several common but complex methods for extended models (i.e., marginal maximum or Bayesian methods) to a simpler alternative (i.e., plausible value imputation).
Accommodated test-taker trends and performance for the June 2002 through February 2007 LSAT administrations / Andrea E. Thornton, Laura A. Marcus, Lynda M. Reese. by 2009
The purpose of this report is to describe trends with regard to accommodated testing for the LSAT, as well as to summarize the performance of accommodated LSAT takers.
Agents of globalization in law : phase 1 / Carole Silver. by 2009
This project seeks to understand the ways in which U.S. graduate legal education shapes the careers of transnational lawyers.
An expected response function approach to graphical differential item functioning / David J. Scrams, Lori D. McLeod. by 2009
A new approach to graphical differential item functioning (DIF) is offered.
Automatic prediction of item difficulty based on semantic similarity measures / Dmitry I. Belov, Lily Knezevich. by 2009
This report introduces new automated features for predicting item difficulty based on WordNet - a lexical database available online.
Balanced item pool assembly in computerized adaptive testing / Dmitry I. Belov. by 2009
This report identifies a new approach for designing the CAT master pool.
Bayesian estimation methods for multidimensional models for discrete and continuous responses / Cees A.W. Glas. by 2009
In this report two new approaches are given for analyzing models for the combination of discrete (correct versus incorrect) and continuous responses, and a model that incorporates both the speed and accuracy of responses to test questions (items).
Bayesian estimation methods for multidimensional models for discrete and continuous responses with a structure on the item and person parameters / Cees A.W. Glas, Oksana Korobko. by 2009
In previous Law School Admission Council reports, methods for estimating and testing item response theory models were outlined for continuous responses developed in a marginal maximum likelihood framework and a Bayesian framework using a Markov chain Monte Carlo computational method. In the present report, it is shown how item and person parameters can be predicted from covariates.
Conceptual issues in response-time modeling / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2009
In this report, conceptualizations for the following two dominant traditions of response-time (RT) modeling are reviewed and analyzed: (a) distinct models for the distributions of RTs and the distributions of item responses, and (b) an integrated approach whereby RTs and item responses are incorporated into the same models.
Detection of answer copying via Kullback-Leibler divergence and K-index / Dmitry Belov, Ronald D. Armstrong. by 2009
The purpose of this report is to present a two-stage approach to automatically detect pairs of test takers who have a high probablility of involvement in copying.
Developing an assessment of first-year law students' critical case reading and reasoning ability, phase 2 / Dorothy H. Evensen ... [et al.] by 2009
Phase 2 analyzes the validity of the test devised in Phase 1, and looks at whether the findings could be replicated using a longitudinal design involving not only first-year, but also third-year law students.
Fear of falling : the effects of U.S. news & world report rankings on U.S. law schools / Michael Sauder, Wendy Espeland. by 2009
Law school rankings have received much attention in the world of legal education, but to date there has been little systematic empirical study of their effects. The goal of this study is to begin to redress this absence by developing a more precise understanding of the effects that law school rankings have had on legal education.
Gender and the legal profession : the Michigan alumni data set 1967-2000 / Kenneth G. Dau-Schmidt ... [et al.]. by 2009
In this study we use the University of Michigan Law School Alumni Data Set to undertake an empirical analysis of the impact of [the transformation in the gender composition of the legal profession] and the differences that the gender makes in the careers and lives of attorneys.
Information-based versus number-correct routing in multistage classification tests / Alexander Weissman, Dmitry I. Belov, Ronald D. Armstrong. by 2009
This paper discusses the multistage adaptive test (MST), concentrating on the routing aspect of the MST approach as opposed to the paper-and-pencil (P&P) tests.
Item response theory parameter estimation with response times as collateral information / Wim J. van der Linden, Rinke H. Klein Entink, Jean-Paul Fox. by 2009
The testing industry is always keen to give test takers more precise scores and to reduce the cost of item calibration. This research investigates a method for achieving this goal by making use of response time (RT) information in the item calibration process.
Likelihood-based estimation methods for models for concurrent continuous and discrete responses with a structure for the item and person parameters / Wim J. van der Linden, Cees A.W. Glas. by 2009
In the present report, a marginal maximum likelihood estimation procedure is derived for a hierarchical model for speed and accuracy in test items.
Linking response-time parameters onto a common scale / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2009
In this research, several combinations of ...linking designs and linking procedures that map the parmeter estimates onto a common scale are examined and the precision of the results evaluated.
LSAT performance with regional, gender, and racial/ethnic breakdowns : 2001-2002 through 2007-2008 testing years / Susan P. Dalessandro, Deborah A. Suto, Lynda M. Reese. by 2009
The purpose of this report is to provide summary information about Law School Admission Test (LSAT) performance for test takers classified by country, region of the United States, gender, race/ethnicity, and race/ethnicity within gender.ΓÇ¥
Predictability of cloned item parameters / Kimberly A. Swygert ... [et al.]. by 2009
This study is a companion to work by Swygert, Scrams, Thompson, & Kerman (1999), in which variants of previously-administered Law School Admission Test (LSAT) items were re-administered as unscored items within an operational paper-and-pencil (P&P) test session.
Predictive validity of accommodated LSAT scores for the 2002-2006 entering law school classes / Arlene Amodeo ... [et al.]. by 2009
This study was undertaken to evaluate the predictive validity of Law School Admission Test (LSAT) scores earned under accommodated testing conditions.
Predictive validity of the LSAT : a national summary of the 2005-2006 correlation studies / Lisa Anthony Stilwell, Susan P. Dalessandro, Lynda M. Reese. by 2009
This report examines the validity of the use of the LSAT for use in the law school admission process.
Sequencing an adaptive test battery / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2009
A test battery is a group of subsets intended for administration to the same group of test takers. Test batteries usually have severe time constraints on their subtests, but the abilities they measure are highly correlated. Hence, such batteries stand to profit substantially from computerized adaptive testing (CAT)...In this research, the idea of adaptation was extended further to include the sequencing of the subtests during the administration of the battery.
Structural modeling using two-step MML procedures / Cees A.W. Glas. by 2009
In this paper, we consider two methods for estimating test-taker proficiencies with traditional statistical methodology.
Summary of self-reported methods of test preparation by LSAT takers for testing years 2005-2006 through 2007-2008 / Josiah Evans, Andrea E. Thornton, Lynda M. Reese. by 2009
This study summarizes self-reported test-preparation methods for LSAT takers for the 2005-2006, 2006-2007, and 2007-2008 testing years.
The masculine mystique : living large from law school to later life / John Hagan, Fiona Kay. by 2009
This report reveals that the legal practices of men are radically altered by their experiences in the formation of families. This study traces the process of living large in a sample of men and women lawyers we have tracked over their 20-year careers, from law school to late middle life.
The performance of repeat test takers on the Law School Admission Test: : 2000-2001 through 2006-2007 testing years / Andrea E. Thornton ... [et al.]. by 2009
The purpose of this report is to provide an update of summary information about the percentage and performance of repeat test takers on the Law School Admission Test (LSAT).
Using response times for item selection in computerized adaptive testing / Wim J. van der Linden. by 2009
The goal of this research was to explore the possibilities of using the response times on the items in an adaptive test to improve ability estimation and, hence, item selection.
Statistical tests for conditional independence in a hierarchical model for speed and accuracy on test items / Wim J. van der Linden, Cees A. W. Glas. by 2010
This project focuses on the development of statistical tests for the assumptions of conditional or local independence on which [a hierarchical framework for modeling speed and accuracy of test-taker responses to test questions (items) in a computerized adaptive test setting environment was presented].

Law Library Resources

ARCHIVED-Law Special Collections: Print Collections

Print Collections

Angela M. McCaffrey

David M. Cobin Slavery Collection

LSAC Reports Collection