Data Sources @ Hamline: CLA Science

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National Center for Health Statistics is the principal health statistics agency for the United States. They offer public use data files as well as compiled statistical information.

Monitoring and Evaluation to Assess and Use Results Demographic and Health Surveys (MEASURE DHS) data is used to advance global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries. Includes STATcompiler tool to allow searchers to build tables with DHS data.

Data Sources and statistics for Minnesota in the areas of Diseases and Conditions, Environmental Health, Health Behaviors/Risk Factors, Health Care Systems, Interactive Data Sources, Life Stages and Population, Statewide Summaries and Assessments, and Vital Statistics.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is one of the three linked databases offered within NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database from the RSC providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. It brings together compound data on the web from over 400 data sources.

The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.

CAIDA curates datasets resulting from both active and passive measurement of the Internet to provide an empirical foundation for Internet research. Interested researchers can view a sortable table of dataset attributes, with links to dataset descriptions, determine download locations (public data), and request restricted data, realtime reports, and other meta-data.

This recently renamed center in the National Science Foundation offers 4 datasets to researchers: WebCASPR (Integrated Science and Engineering Resources Data System), IRIS (Industrial Research and Development Information System), SESTAT (Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System) and SED Tabulation Engine.

The Gateway page for the National Institute for Standards and Technology links to free online NIST data systems and some subscription databases.

The purpose of this project is to improve the accuracy of statistical software by providing reference datasets with certified computational results that enable the objective evaluation of statistical software.

NASA's Global Change Master Directory (GCMD) holds more than 25,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences.

TranStats is a new website from the Bureau of Transportation Statistics. It provides transportation researchers and analysts “one stop shopping” for transportation data.

The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

NCDC is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The provide climate data and models.

The Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information provides a data explorer tool to find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.

In their Reaction Data Database, The Durham HepData Project contains cross sections from HEP scattering experiments. The data comprises total and differential cross sections, structure functions, fragmentation functions, distribuitions of jet measures, polarisations, etc. for a wide range of interactions.

The Plasma Laboratory at the Weizmann Institute of Science has created a list of databases/ data sets which are used in atomic and plasma physics.

Population data closely integrated with data on the environment shows the impact of environmental change on human behavior. Data partners and services include several groups at the University of Minnesota, Columbia University, and University of Michigan.

The GBIF data portal provides access to two types of scientific data records, Species occurrence records (based on specimens and observations) and Names and classifications of organisms.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides data and tools for collecting and analyzing molecular data.

"Dryad is an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences." Among their goals are the ability to allow end-users to perform sophisticated searches over data (not only by publication, but also by taxon, geography, geological age, biological concept, etc.) and to preserve all the underlying data reported in a paper at the time of publication.