Guides: 2025 FSEM 1010-18: How to Be Happy and Successful in College (Prof. Steinbach): Databases &amp; Articles

Article Quick Links

Databases by subject
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
more... less...

Describes tips for identifying whether an article is an academic article or one from the popular press.
help for off-campus access
more... less...

Tips for accessing the Library's databases using the proxy server from Hamline's wireless network or from off-campus.

Academic Search Premier
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.

Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Students and professionals rely on this premier database, which offers full text, indexing, and abstracts for education periodicals, books and yearbooks.The wide array of subject areas includes the practice of teaching in all subjects and on all levels, plus adult education, assessment, administration, bilingual education, classroom management, comparative education, ESL, government funding, higher education, teacher evaluation, testing, and urban schools.
Historical Abstracts
Index of articles published on the history of the world from 1450 forward. Topics include military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Note: does not focus on the U.S. or Canada.

You may also want to consider using Google Scholar for broad searches and JSTOR for older articles.

Google Scholar
Search broadly across many subjects and sources for articles, dissertations, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Google does not identify the databases it uses; nor does it indicate the quality of the sources it provides. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to Hamline database searching.
JSTOR
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.