A great way to get a handle on the best terms to use in your search strategy is to do a little background reading on your topic.
Reference books like encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries can help you with that step.
Credo Reference Collection (search across multiple encyclopedias at once)
General Economics Reference Book Titles:
The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour
Employing empirical methods, including laboratory experiments, field experiments, observations, questionnaires and interviews, the Handbook covers aspects of theory and method, financial and consumer behaviour, the environment, and biological perspectives.
A Primer on Microeconomics
Text represents a common sense approach to basic microeconomics. It is directed toward all students, but particularly those within business school settings including students beginning an advanced business degree course of study. It will deliver clear statements of essential economic principles, supported by easy to understand examples, and uncluttered by extraneous material; the goal being to provide a concise readable primer that covers the substance of microeconomic theory. The text will look at the efficient operation of competitive markets and what may cause those markets to fail; the benefits from trade; profit maximization; the consequences of choice; and the implications of imperfect competition.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics
This dictionary of economics contains over 4,200 entries which provide lucid, comprehensive, accurate and up-to-date expositions of the key terms, issues and concepts in economics. It also describes the work of the central figures in the field.
Understanding research methodologies and writing a literature review:
A Beginner's Guide to Economic Research and Presentation
Whereas other books provide an overview of how to present research, with only cursory suggestions and tips, inside this book, the authors provide precise details on all aspects of research writing, including how many PowerPoint slides one should prepare for presentations and how much content should be on each slide. In short, unlike other books, this book provides a specific approach to conducting research, writing a paper, and presenting its material.
Statistics for Economics
All the examples and exercises in this book are constructed within the field of economics, thus eliminating the difficulty of learning statistics with examples from fields that have no relation to business, politics, or policy. Statistics is, in fact, not more difficult than economics. Anyone who can comprehend economics can understand and use statistics successfully within this field, including you.
Succeeding with Your Literature Review
...comprehensive and practical guidance on the process of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, as well as planning and writing a literature review.
Concerning the environment, consumer behavior & marketing, and sports & leisure:
Belief Systems, Religion, and Behavioral Economics: marketing in multicultural environments
This book provides one of the first comprehensive investigations into the relation between religion and behavioral economics. It is relevant to current managers, anyone involved in the marketing, MBA students, and also upper-division undergraduate students. Each of these groups will benefit from a clear understanding of religious groups and how religion influences consumer decision making.
The Econometrics of Sport
This unique book offers a survey of recent research that follows the tradition of empirical and theoretical analysis of sport economics and econometrics.
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics
Accessible to students and practitioners without an advanced degree in environmental economics, this essential reference work pinpoints the role of the economy in both creating and solving many of the world's most pressing environmental challenges. * Provides stand-alone, easy-to-understand, politically neutral, and factually driven entries by leading experts on all the major themes and topics in environmental and natural resource economics .
Environmental Justice: a reference handbook
Environmental Justice: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition offers a current overview of the environmental inequities faced by poor and minority communities and the development of the grassroots movement working to address them.
Covers the consumption, availability, and distribution of energy and other resources in the personal consumer environment.
The Oxford Handbook of Food, Politics, and Society
This volume explores the complex interrelationships between food and agriculture, politics, and society. More specifically, it considers the political aspects of three basic economic questions: what is to be produced? how is it to be produced? how it is to be distributed? It also outlines three unifying themes running through the politics of answering these societal questions with regard to food, namely: ecology, technology and property.
The Oxford Handbook of Land Economics
The first section presents recent advances in the analysis of major drivers of land use change, focusing on economic development and various land-use markets. The second section presents economic research on the environmental and socio-economic impacts of land use and land use change. The third section addresses six cutting-edge approaches for land economics research, including spatial econometric, simulation, and experimental methods.
Routledge Handbook of Sport Management
The Routledge Handbook of Sport Management is the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to theory and practice in sport management ever published. It provides students and scholars with a broad ranging survey of current thinking in contemporary sport management, exploring best practice in core functional areas and identifying important future directions for new research.