Guides: PSCI 1000: Great Questions of Modern Politics Prof. Ozkececi-Taner (spring 2023): Home

Search HamCAT Reference Entries

Search Hamline's Online Reference collection

Contact the Library

call
(651) 523-2373

email
bushref@hamline.edu

meet virtually
schedule a research appointment
with a librarian

A Selection of Reference/Background Sources

Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought by Claeys, Gregory; Cummings, Michael S.; Sargent, Lyman Tower
Publication Date: 2013, CQ Press.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Political Behavior by Moghaddam, Fathali M.
Publication Date: 2017, SAGE Publications
Political Theory: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary and Classic Terms by Hammond, Scott J.
Publication Date: 2009, Greenwood Press
International Encyclopedia of Political Science by Badie, Bertrand; Berg-Schlosser, Dirk; Morlino, Leonardo
Publication Date: 2011, SAGE Publications
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by Brown, Garrett Wallace; McLean, Iain; McMillan, Alistair
Publication Date: 2018, Oxford University Press

24/7 Online Reference Databases

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, videos and multimedia.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.

Why Use Reference Resources?

Bush Library provides you access to many encyclopedias and dictionaries.
By using with these resources you will:

Obtain background information on your topic (e.g., person, event, theory, terminology, etc.)
Identify additional search terms to use when searching for book and article resources, and
Find citations to other works (e.g., books, articles) providing longer, more detailed coverage on specific aspects of the topic.

Your Research Librarian

Amy Sheehan

Email Me

Contact:

Hamline University
Bush Memorial Library, Room 106
1536 Hewitt Ave., MS-C1919
St. Paul, MN 55104

651-523-2193

Subjects: Anthropology, Art , Biology & Biochemistry, Book Reviews, Chemistry, Creative Writing, Digital Media and Studio Arts, Education - ESL, Education & Leadership, English, First Year Seminar, Math, Music, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Social Studies

Research Guides

PSCI 1000: Great Questions of Modern Politics Prof. Ozkececi-Taner (spring 2023): Home