Guides: 2020 First Year Writing 1110-01 & 05 Prof. Scott: Articles

Article Quick Links

Databases by subject
Journals @ Hamline
more...less...
Use this tool to identify which journals, magazines, and newspapers are available via Hamline's Libraries. If your title isn't available, you can request the article using interlibrary loan.
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
more...less...
Describes tips for identifying whether an article is an academic article or one from the popular press.
help for off-campus access
more...less...
Tips for accessing the Library's databases using the proxy server from Hamline's wireless network or from off-campus.

Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.
Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes

Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of subject databases including journals, full-text articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections are comprised of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organizational Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Full Text: Yes

The databases list above are multi-disciplinary. The links below are examples of subject or discipline specific databases.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest full-text business database. Find articles business, management, public administration, and nonprofit management articles, as well as case and policy studies. Includes peer-reviewed journals and professional and trade magazines. (SWOT analyses, company reports, industry reports are more easily searched in Business Searching Interface.)
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
With full-text access and coverage as far back as the early 1900s in communication and media studies, CMMC is a highly reliable resource for research in Communication, Media, Linguistics, ESL, and Education.
Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Students and professionals rely on this premier database, which offers full text, indexing, and abstracts for education periodicals, books and yearbooks.The wide array of subject areas includes the practice of teaching in all subjects and on all levels, plus adult education, assessment, administration, bilingual education, classroom management, comparative education, ESL, government funding, higher education, teacher evaluation, testing, and urban schools.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Dates Covered: 1963 - present
Full Text: No

Available in print format: 1953-1995 HM1 .S67