Skip to main content

CLICsearch: About

Some changes in the updated CLICsearch (starting June 1, 2020)

  • Sign in now requires the full Hamline email address, not just your username. Note that many searches still can be conducted without signing in. 
  • The new CLICsearch is limited to only 10 results per page, but we expect to be able to display 20 results per page starting early 2021.
  • Saved Searches will not migrate from the current CLICsearch. Please contact a librarian for how to rebuild your saved searches in your account in the new CLICsearch.
  • Search results may be slightly different compared with the older CLICsearch. Rerunning a search may not show the exact same order of search results, but the total search hits remains the same and in most cases finds more of our resources than the older CLICsearch did.
  • Some of our Digital Repository archival photos and material might not be displaying yet. For example our Brass Rubbings Collection is not included. We are working to fix this. 
  • Streaming audio from Naxos and other audio sources are displaying incorrectly as type AUDIO CD. The vendor is working on a fix for this.
  • Some combination books with audio CDs may erroneously be displayed as type AUDIO CD. 
  • Clicking "Includes" or "Related Works" links may not return the proper number of results. Workaround for this is to instead click on the SEARCH in the the lower right hand corner of the Advanced Search Panel. Reason for issue: semicolon ( ; ) is confounding the  subsequent search. The vendor has documented this as a known bug and will be working on a fix.
  • ARCHIVES & MANUSCRIPTS COLLECTIONS are currently labeled as simply COLLECTIONS.
  • Personal Details addresses cannot be updated in My Library Account at this time. Attempts to change the address will result in "Field Address line 1 is mandatory" error.
  • Resource types may be misaligned depending upon additional content. For example, Books with CDs may show up erroneously as type "Compact Disk". Atlases are showing up incorrectly as type "Maps". This is a known issue that the vendor is working on fixing. No date has been set for a fix yet.
  • Users may run into a Google sign in issue in which it does not allow enough time for 2-Step Verification. If this happens, use the link below for "Try another way to sign in". ScreenshotYour sign in attempt timed out. Try another way

Then choose either the option to "Get a text message with a verification code…" Or else "Enter one of your 8-digit backup codes". 
We are working on a fix for this, but we have no estimated time on when this might be resolved.

  • Some of the facets (search limiters) on the left side after a searches conducted have been renamed and reordered compared with the older/previous CLICsearch. This was done to facilitate users' search experience.

 

For faculty users:

  • The Leganto Send to button is not available in the new CLICsearch but we expect to have this enabled by the end of 2020. In the meantime, please use Leganto to search for and add reading list items.

 

Please feel free to offer feedback if you notice search anomalies or other improvements that you need.

CLICsearch results limited temporarily

CLICsearch is temporarily only displaying search results from Hamline because most other CLIC Libraries are physically closed due to the COVID pandemic. Once the CLIC courier service is operational again, full CLICsearch searching across all institutions will be restored.

 



​CLICsearch is the main Bush Library search interface (i.e. it's the online library catalog).

 

Please visit your Library Account to see current CLICsearch loans, any overdue charges, and to place renewal requests.

 

What is CLIC and why should you care?   CLIC Quick Facts

Cooperating Libraries In Consortium (CLIC) allows easy and quick lending between six university libraries in the Twin Cities area. Rather than being limited to the holdings at Bush Memorial Library, students, faculty and staff have access to over 2 plus million books that can be freely requested and delivered within a day or so. So when you search the Bush Library at Hamline, you are actually searching all of CLIC member libraries from: Bethel University, Concordia University - St. Paul, St. Catherine University, University of Northwestern - St. Paul, and the University of St. Thomas.

 

CLICsearch helpful tips for searching


CLICsearch Known Issues

CLICsearch Help Guide and Frequently Asked Questions

 Borrow & Renew: details about circulation and how to obtain library items whether near or far

Faculty: Contact a librarian for help with links to library materials for your courses.

Provide your feedback to help us improve CLICsearch: help identify problems and tell us about your research experience.

 

Known Issues

We will have continue to have some growing pains with our new CLICsearch library system. Improvements will be ongoing. Provide your feedback.opens in a new window

Here are ongoing issues:

  • My Library Account opens in a new window does not include items procured through Interlibrary loan (ILLiad). Please view Checked Out Items in ILLiad to see your interlibrary loans.
  • Limited results found – Due to temporary technical problem… error. Please try your search again. You may have to wait a minute or so for the shared CLICsearch system to not be so busy so it can properly display your search results.

If you discover a problem with CLICsearch that isn't listed here, please feel free to provide feedback.

 

What is CLICsearch?

CLICsearch is a discovery tool that allows researchers to search much of Hamline University Library's collection simultaneously. Each search returns results from the library's catalog (formerly CLICnet) and many of the library's online resources all at once from a single search box.


Why login to CLICsearch?

Login with your Hamline computer username and password in order to:
 

  • View expanded results

  • Request items from other CLIC libraries

  • See your library account

  • Renew most items online (excluding ILL items from ILLiad)

  • Create folders with saved items and search queries

  • Access full text off-campus (when available)

What will I find in CLICsearch?

  • Articles

  • Books

  • Ebooks

  • Videos

  • And more!

Each item listed on the results page includes a citation for that item and links to its full-text or online version (if available) or a catalog record indicating at which CLIC library that item can be found and requested.

What will I NOT find in CLICsearch?

Resources that are not searchable in CLICsearch include some of our subscription databases that primarily provide statistical data or unique material.
Such databases include:

All of our subscription databases can be accessed and searched directly through our Databases & Articles page.

 

Renewing items in CLICsearch

Sign in and view My Library Account in CLICsearch. Use ILLiad to check for due dates for Interlibrary Loan items since these items don't show up in My Library Account in CLICsearch.

Help beyond CLICsearch

If you would like help with CLICsearch or in searching any of our individual databases, please contact a librarian.