Skip to main content
The Bush Library building is closed until further notice, but our library staff and many services can still be accessed remotely, and many of our resources can be accessed or requested electronically.
Student guide to conducting research remotely
This faculty guide will help instructors discover services and resources while our library building is closed.
Film Collections @ Hamline
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)
Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the streaming videos published by Alexander Street Press. Academic Video Online brings together a completely integrated streaming video experience across a range of disciplines and subject areas, including American History, Education, Politics and Current Affairs, Psychology, Science, and Women’s and Gender Studies.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand in a user-friendly online streaming video service with thousands of high-quality educational videos covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Sciences and Health. Films on Demand includes titles from the BBC, PBS, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, the History Channel and more with public performance rights included for each title.
Kanopy streaming video
Collection of streaming video titles
Due to unsustainable costs, Bush Library has switched our access to Kanopy streaming videos from unmediated to mediated access. All Kanopy titles currently leased and available for use are accessible via CLICsearch and through the Kanopy user interface. Users will be prompted to fill out a form in Kanopy, "Hamline Bush Library doesn't offer…." if you want the library to consider acquiring a lease to a new title. For more information, contact a librarian or see our Streaming Video Guide page for more details.
Some Kanopy videos require the IPhone and iPad iOS Kanopy app – freely available from the App Store.
Other Film Sources
C-SPAN Video Library
Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987. Watch the Clarence Thomas confirmation hearings, the Challenger explosion, and much more.
European Film Gateway
"Access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials...The EFG offers a look at and behind the scenes of filmmaking in Europe from the early days until today. The EFG facilitates online access to historical documents and leads you directly to the archives that hold the originals."
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
"Contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."
Minnesota Video Vault Archive
From TPT (Twin Cities Public Television)
"With over 12,000 movie clips, you can search, find, view, discuss and share scenes from your favorite movies."
An interesting collection of films created by federal agencies, including: the Iran Contra Hearings; the Royal Ballet of Cambodia; and several long clips of The Roswell Reports ("eyewitness accounts").
TED: Ideas Worth Spreading
"On TED.com, we make the best talks and performances from TED and partners available to the world, for free...We believe passionately in the power of ideas to change attitudes, lives and ultimately, the world. So we're building here a clearinghouse that offers free knowledge and inspiration from the world's most inspired thinkers, and also a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other..."
"Vimeo was created by filmmakers and video creators who wanted to share their creative work, along with intimate personal moments of their everyday life. As time went on, like-minded people came to the site and built a community of positive, encouraging individuals with a wide range of video interests."