Skip to main content

Research Guides

Essay: Sources

Library resources to support reading, researching, and writing essays.

Search CLICsearch - Book/eBook

Search CLICsearch

  • To browse for essays, try this search: essays, then tweak my results, by limiting to subject: essays
  • Do an advanced search and limit to Subject > essays
  • To find essays on a particular subject, enter the term essays and add a subject.  
    For example:  essays food, essays forest, essays art, essays hemingway, essays minnesota ...
  • To limit your results to books, filter by Resource Type >  Books  
  • To limit the books to those shelved at Hamline, add the filter Show Only >  Available at Hamline
  • To limit the books to eBooks, add the filter Any > Full Text Online

Literature Resource Center

Essay and General Literature Index

Location:  Indexes
(2nd Floor, following the Literary Magazines)

Hamline has: 1900 - 1999

This index has been around a while and, before online library catalogs, was the only reliable way to identify essays that are published as part of a larger work.  Each year, starting in 1900, the editors selected specific collections of essays to be indexed, for example Ornament and Silence: Essays on Women's Lives and Green Culture: Environmental Rhetoric in Contemporary America.  Search by author or by subject.  Subjects include the arts, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, education, law, political science, psychology, sociology, and science.

However, now that the titles of essays in most edited collections are included in library catalogs--including CLICsearch--this series is of limited use for materials published since the late 1990s.  The number of books it indexes is very limited.  Both the books and journals it indexes are highly specialized.  My recommendation is to use CLICsearch, the Encyclopedia of the Essay, and our online databases for essays published since the 1990s.  Use this index for materials earlier than that.

Encyclopedia of the Essay

Anthologies