Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA: 8th Edition Works Cited Guide

Divided into categories, this libguide offers basic templates and examples. For questions beyond the basics, please see the handbook--on reserve at the Central Service Desk. Ask for it by call number: LB2369 .G53 2016.

PRINT

The chapter title is the Source; the book title is the Container.

Chapter Author Last Name, Chapter Author First Name. "Source." Container,

edited by Editor Name, Publisher, Year of Publication,

chapter page numbers. 

Deo, Veena. "Representations of Dalit Women: Translating the Stories of 

Urmila Pawar's Short Stories." Claiming Power from Below: Dalits and the

Subaltern Question in Indiaedited by Manu Bhagavan and

Anne Feldhaus, Oxford UP, 2008, pp. 166-178.

 

REFERENCE BOOKS

Note including database name before the DOI or URL is optional. Check with your instructor.

With database name 

Ewing, Adam. "African Diaspora." Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and

Nationalism, edited by John Stone, et al., Wiley Blackwell, 2016. 

Wiley Online Library, doi: 10.1002/9781118663202.

Without 

Ewing, Adam. "African Diaspora." Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and

Nationalismedited by John Stone, et al., Wiley Blackwell, 2016,

 doi: 10.1002/9781118663202.

 

"Monograph." Merriam-Webster's Third New International Dictionary, 2016. (print)

"Monograph." Merriam-Webster: Dictionary and Thesaurus, 2016, 

www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/monograph.