Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Employment at Bush Memorial Library: Library Jobs

Interested in working at the library? This guide features information and job descriptions for many student jobs in the library!

Working for Bush Memorial Library

Bush Memorial Library depends on student workers to keep the library and ITS services up and running!  There are three different jobs for students interested in working with the library.  Read on for position descriptions and contact information.

Library Jobs: Central Service Desk Student Worker

The Central Service Desk is a fast paced department in Bush Library.  Student workers, as well as library staff members, are at the desk each of the 102.5 hours it is open per week, including evenings and weekends.  This service point is often the first contact that patrons have with the library and its staff members and student employees must represent the library in a positive manner.  It also acts as the main point of contact for questions related to campus IT, and students are cross-trained to support both operations.

Requirements:  We are looking for students who have experience working with the public; take initiative; are detail oriented; work well independently as well as part of a team; are not afraid to ask questions; have sufficient English language skills to understand and follow verbal and written instructions, are able to communicate clearly with library users and staff; are dependable and on time, and are willing and able to work an established schedule.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • Assist patrons in person, on the phone, and via email.

  • Accurately check in and out items to Hamline patrons and patrons of the other CLIC institutions.

  • Process incoming materials from the CLIC courier delivery service.

  • Answer directional questions (i.e., where is BLI 10, the bathroom, the CLA Dean’s office, CTL, CASA).

  • Answer basic collections and resources questions (i.e., do you have this book or article)

  • Refer research questions to professional librarian staff (i.e., where can I find population statistics for Myanmar)

  • Complete book searches, as directed.

  • Collaborate with other student workers, library staff, and departments.

  • Assist in maintaining the appearance of the library, keeping it neat and orderly.

  • Assist with general library duties.

  • Work on special projects, as assigned.

  • Answer IT related questions, such as resetting passwords, walking users through technology support materials)

 

Contact:

Mary Sue Lovett, Central Service Desk Librarian

mlovett@hamline.edu 

Library Jobs: Resource and Acquisition Management Student Worker

Resource and Acquisition Management (or RaAM) provides administrative support for the Bush Library collection.  Our student work force in RaAM assists the staff in assuring that materials in the library collection are available for library users.  Hours available for employment are Monday-Friday, 7:00 am – 5 pm.

Requirements:  Detail oriented individuals who are dependable and can work independently.  

Responsibilities include:

  • Shelving Materials
  • Preparing Patron Loan Requests
  • Collection Maintenance
  • Special Projects
  • Processing Materials
    • Adding new items to the collection
    • Checking in and shelving journals
    • Withdrawing items from the collection
    • Assisting with digital collections

Contact:

Leah Kodner, Librarian

lkodner01@hamline.edu

651-523-2117

Library Jobs: Interlibrary Loan Student Worker

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is an efficient system of borrowing and lending that offers the Hamline community  a pathway to resources not available in  the CLiC institutions. Our student workforce assists the ILL coordinator in the daily tasks that ensure fast and efficient service. ILL student employees perform their tasks on three systems: ILLiad, Odyssey, and VDX. No previous experience with these systems is necessary.  Hours available for employment are Monday-Friday, 9 am - 5 pm. (Evening and weekend hours a possibility for highly-motivated, independent workers.)

Responsibilities include:

  • Lending items in Bush Library to libraries in the state and around the country.

  • Retrieving both print and online items from the Bush Library collection.

  • Scanning, photocopying, emailing, and faxing articles.

  • Downloading, verifying, and updating requests.    

  • Receiving borrowed books, articles, and DVDs -- and preparing them for patron access.

  • Returning borrowed books and DVDs, a process that includes updating the electronic systems and packaging items for mailing.

  • Assisting with updates to Bush Library’s Interlibrary Loan Manual.

  • Assisting with ILL statistics gathering.

  • Performing other library  tasks (inventory/shelf reading) as time permits.

Contact:

Mara Stemm

mstemm01@hamline.edu