Academic Video Online Collections

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Art and Architecture Video Online will grow to be the largest streaming video resource of its kind. The collection includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, interviews, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, and criticism.

Area Studies Video Online covers Middle Eastern studies, Latin American, African, Eastern European, Asian, and other global communities. The collection includes films focused on cultural, political, and socioeconomic issues and provides an interdisciplinary resource for every region of the world.

Business and Economics Video Online focuses on the study, analysis, and application of commerce in all of its dimensions. Included are case studies, documentaries, interviews, biographies, lectures, and instructional videos. Subjects covered include marketing, sales, finance, macro & microeconomics, personnel management, logistics & operations, strategy, negotiations, theory, cross-cultural issues, social media marketing, ethics, project management, leadership, and entrepreneurship.

Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.

Criminal Justice and Law in Video will contain hundreds of documentaries, investigative reports, interviews, instructional videos, and primary footage. Key themes covered in the collection include Administration of Justice, Criminological Theory, Law Adjudication, and Law Enforcement.

Dance in Video contains over five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection contains more than 3,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.

Ethnographic Video Online provides Anthropologists, Sociologists and cultural historians with over 400 videos focused on family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and gender.

Ethnic Studies Video Online provides a collection of films documenting the struggles and triumphs of underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities. Covering Native American Studies, Chicano Studies, African American Studies, and examinations of other racially marginalized communities, the films present issues of social justice, racial and socioeconomic inequalities, and the groups’ contributions to history, culture, and society.

Health and Healthcare in Video defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.

Humanities Video Online provides a multidisciplinary collection of films with a broad range of titles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Politics and Current Affairs Video Online is a unique streaming video resource featuring a collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world. Covering Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights, the films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history.

Philosophy and Religious Studies in Video delivers hundreds of films documenting philosophical and religious thought and how it shapes human behavior today. The most authoritative video collection of its kind, the database includes carefully selected documentaries, debates, personal interviews, biographies, and other primary source footage.

Psychology Video Online provides key films in the discipline of Psychology. The collection provides documentaries, interviews, case studies, and psychological experiments. Topics covered include addiction, group psychol­ogy, feminist psychology, family psychology, children & adolescent psychology, depres­sion, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder.

Science Video Online delivers a comprehensive streaming video resource for the study of Scientific disciplines. The collection of films will cover Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography.

Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Women's and Gender Studies Video Online provides films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics. The collection addresses issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, gay and lesbian studies, and provides insight into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered is global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

World Languages and Literature in Video provides a growing collection of documentary films and adaptations covering the leading figures in world literature. Selections cover studies of languages, cultures, and literary traditions — including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Japanese, Chinese, and Latin America.

Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the streaming videos published by Alexander Street Press. Academic Video Online brings together a completely integrated streaming video experience across a range of disciplines and subject areas, including American History, Education, Politics and Current Affairs, Psychology, Science, and Women’s and Gender Studies.