It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research and news about all things visual: the fine arts, decorative arts, digital media, graphic design and commercial art, photography, folk art, film, architecture and more. Includes non-Western art.
With full-text access and coverage as far back as the early 1900s in communication and media studies, CMMC is a highly reliable resource for research in Communication, Media, Linguistics, ESL, and Education.
Literary criticism, literary magazines, magazines on writing, journals about literature, and information about authors, their works, and on literary movements. The scope is worldwide and it covers all genres and time periods.
Useful for students of English, languages and literature. Offers millions of citations to materials in books, journals, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Dates Covered: 1923 - present
Full Text: No
Print index available: 1969-1993 with varied titles, near call number REF Z7006 .M62.
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes
Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
"Artsy features the world’s leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions, all in one place. Our growing database of 350,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 50,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art."
Public collections of art available to all users. It contains 1.3 million freely accessible images contributed from colleges, universities, and museums. Hamline no longer subscribes to the paid collections.