Education: Contemporary Issues

"...offers 100 chapters written by leading experts in the field that highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates facing educators today. This comprehensive and authoritative two-volume work provides undergraduate education majors with insight into the rich array of issues inherent in education-issues informing debates that involve all Americans."

"Bank presents a thorough and up-to-date look at issues of gender in education, from elementary through high school, to which multiple experts have contributed. Primarily focused on U.S. educational systems, this thematically organized work starts with a general overview of gendered theories of education and moves through research, contexts and constructs, and an examination of policies."

"80% of states have mandates regarding character education. This support for moral education, however, masks a high degree of controversy surrounding the meaning and the methods of moral and/or character education. The purpose of this Handbook is to replace the ideological rhetoric that infects this field with a comprehensive, research-oriented volume that includes the extensive changes that have occurred over the last 15 years."

(Circulating Collection) Chapter Listing: 1. Introduction and Overview 2. Chronology 3. Standards Movement and Assessment 4. Pulling Tis All Together 5. Selected Resources 6. Organizations Supporting Performance Assessment Includes appendices and index. Each chapter includes bibliographic references.

(Circulating Collection) Chapter Listing: 1. Introduction 2. Chronology 3. Curriculum and Instructional Approaches 4. Charter Schools and the Law 5. Politics and the Charter School Challenge 6. Teachers' Unions and Charter Schools 7. Organizations, Associations, and Government Agencies 8. Selected Print and Non-print Resources. Chapters include references.

(Circulating Collection) Chapter Listing: 1. Introduction 2. Chronology 3. Privatization and School Choice 4. Privatization of Education: Arguments and Controversies 5. Vouchers and the Law: Drawing Conclusions From Research 6. Private Scholarships and Faith-based Charitable Contributions 7. From Learning Centers to Earning Centers? 8. managing Public Schools for Profit: the Rise of the Educational Management Organization 9. Epilogue.

(Circulating Collection)

(Circulating Collection) "Handbook that analyzes, integrates, and summarizes theoretical advances and research findings on adult development and learning - a rapidly growing field reflecting demographic shifts toward an aging population in Western societies. Featuring contributions from prominent scholars across diverse disciplinary fields (education, developmental psychology, public policy, gerontology, neurology, public health, sociology, family studies, and adult education)."

(Circulating Collection) "This encyclopedia is intended to encompass the extant knowledge on research, policy, and practice regarding queer sexualities, "focusing specifically on its intersection with young people and their formal as well as informal schooling." Youth is considered to fall in the period of adolescence and postadolescence (to midtwenties), although entries related to children and primary education are included."

(Circulating Collection) "This work delves into the topic of moral education in America's K-12 schools. Following an introductory historical chapter, it analyzes salient topics and notable leaders in the field of moral education. It treats the issues thoroughly and fairly, providing a heightened understanding of both the major and minor themes in moral education."