Guides: 2024 Fall: First Year Writing 1120-03 (Prof. Deffenbacher): Home

Search HamCAT Reference Entries

call
(651) 523-2373

email
bushref@hamline.edu

meet virtually
schedule a research appointment
with a librarian

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, videos and multimedia.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.

Bush Library provides you access to many encyclopedias and dictionaries.
By using with these resources you will:

Obtain background information on your topic (e.g., person, event, theory, terminology, etc.)
Identify additional search terms to use when searching for book and article resources, and
Find citations to other works (e.g., books, articles) providing longer, more detailed coverage on specific aspects of the topic.