Guides: 2024 FSEM 1010-15: Protecting our planet through Chemistry (Prof. Sandhir): Pre-Search Resources

Ask a Librarian 24/7

Ask A Librarian. Takes minutes. Save hours.

Example of Reference Sources

The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information. (3rd ed. 2006) Bush Library Main Book Collection, 3rd Floor ; QD8.5 .A25 2006
Dictionary of Chemistry (Oxford 2020)

Reference = Background Information

Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science-oriented content for a K-12 audience. These full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, and periodicals cover: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, videos and multimedia.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference materials, easily searchable. Enter search terms and browse reference materials grouped by related subject terms.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.