Guides: GIST/HIST 3020: Interdisciplinary Research Methods: Article Databases

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.
Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
From the American Anthropological Association, access to 100 years of research in ethnographic, linguistic, and museum anthropology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search broadly across many subjects and sources for articles, dissertations, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Google does not identify the databases it uses; nor does it indicate the quality of the sources it provides. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to Hamline database searching.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles focusing on many medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 forward. Topics include military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Note: does not focus on the U.S. or Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes

Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest comprehensive source of doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. It brings together content from the world’s premier universities—from the Ivy League to the Russell Group. Includes over 4 million works – grows by 130K each year.
PubMed.gov This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine (NIH) citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Dates Covered: 1950s to present
Full Text: No, but some full text links
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of subject databases including journals, full-text articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections are comprised of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organizational Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Full Text: Yes
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Dates Covered: 1963 - present
Full Text: No

Available in print format: 1953-1995 HM1 .S67

Databases for Primary Source Articles

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 6000 17th-19th century American periodicals. Primary source material.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
From the Library of Congress. Search for historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922, or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Essay and General Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Essays from 1900-1984
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database specializes in general interest subjects, including popular magazines. It also offers reference sources and articles, biographies, and an image collection, including maps and flags.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune This link opens in a new window
The Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1922) offer full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers interface provides a full image online and indexing of the New York Times newspaper back to 1851. The current 3 years are not found in this database.

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes hundreds of thousands of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1856 and today. Due to copyright law, most newspapers published after 1922 can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature from 1890-1982. Indexes 3+ million articles from leading magazines.

GIST/HIST 3020: Interdisciplinary Research Methods: Article Databases

Article Quick Links

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Databases for Primary Source Articles

Book Reviews