When searching journal databases (e.g., Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, etc.) you can search a book title and limit your search results to "book reviews/reviews".
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.
Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes
Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
Offers a comprehensive collection of subject databases including journals, full-text articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables, and page numbers. The Collections are comprised of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organizational Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Full Text: Yes
You may also want to consider using Historical Abstracts for discipline focused searches, Google Scholar for broad searches, and JSTOR for older articles.
Covers the history of the world from 1450 forward. Topics include military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. Note: does not focus on the U.S. or Canada.
Search broadly across many subjects and sources for articles, dissertations, books, abstracts and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Note: Google does not identify the databases it uses; nor does it indicate the quality of the sources it provides. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to Hamline database searching.
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
