Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search HamCAT Reference Entries
Search Hamline's Online Reference collection
24/7 Online Reference Databases
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Introduction to and in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Full-text articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and a PRO/CON feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and a short "sidebar" round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Current issues, multiple perspectives. Each topic has an objective, unbiased overview, point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics include: censorship, human rights, medicine & ethics, media bias, and intelligent design.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Start with the encyclopedia for an introduction to your topic. Move on to the thesaurus, atlas, biographies, ebooks, news, videos and multimedia
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering a thorough introduction to topics across the academic spectrum, Credo provides full-text online versions of published reference works, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias. Search Keywords, Subject Categories and Topic Pages.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference materials, easily searchable. Enter search terms and browse reference materials grouped by related subject terms.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This collection of reference books includes dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedias, both general and subject specific. Use this collection when searching for reputable background information on just about any academic topic.
SAGE Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and ebooks for business, communication, counseling, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, political science, psychology, public health sciences, and sociology.
Why Use Reference Resources?
Bush Library provides you access to many encyclopedias and dictionaries.
By using with these resources you will:
- Obtain background information on your topic (e.g., group, event, theory, terminology, etc.)
- Identify additional search terms to use when searching for book and article resources, and
- Find citations to other works (e.g., books, articles) providing longer, more detailed coverage of the topic.