Guides: Writing for Children and Young Adults: Find Articles

Find Articles

Off-campus Access: If you're off-campus when you click on the database, you'll be prompted to login first. Use your official Hamline User Account username and password. For more information, go to Off-campus Access

Find Full Text: If you find an article but don't see a link to the full text, click on the Find Full Text button from within the database to see whether Hamline has it online in a different database or in print.

ILL (Interlibrary Loan): If we don't have it anywhere else, we can usually get it for you from another library. Login to HamCAT and if you can't find what you need, fill out an Interlibrary Loan form. For more information, visit Borrow & Renew.

Good Places to Start

Databases
Listed in order of databases with highest relevance to Creative Writing

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, literary magazines, magazines on writing, journals about literature, and information about authors, their works, and on literary movements. The scope is worldwide and it covers all genres and time periods.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles covering the disciplines of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Dates Covered: varies by title
Full Text: Yes

Earlier Articles available: Some titles are indexed and full text in earlier dates in JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Most significant journals in nearly every subject, from anthropology to women’s studies, the majority available full text.
Sign is not required within EBSCO except to download ebooks or to keep citations in folders. When trying to sign in to EBSCO using the blue Sign into Google button, you then have to enter your full Hamline email address– you can't simply enter the first part of your username.
Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Students and professionals rely on this premier database, which offers full text, indexing, and abstracts for education periodicals, books and yearbooks.The wide array of subject areas includes the practice of teaching in all subjects and on all levels, plus adult education, assessment, administration, bilingual education, classroom management, comparative education, ESL, government funding, higher education, teacher evaluation, testing, and urban schools.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A prime resource for the full range of topics in education, including children's literature and everything about children, teaching, ...
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"Journal STORage." This is an archive of academic journals in many disciplines. Full text coverage for journals begins with the first issue published and continues up to the most recent 3-5 years (i.e. current articles are not included). For example, it includes: The American Historical Review issues from 1895 forward, Minnesota History from 1915, and the Town Planning Review from 1910. Special collections within this database include American prison newspapers, 1800-2020, Independent Voices publications from the alternate press, Student Activism primary sources, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest comprehensive source of doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. It brings together content from the world’s premier universities—from the Ivy League to the Russell Group. Includes over 4 million works – grows by 130K each year.

NEED MORE? Go to our Database by Subject list.

Browse Articles

Browse Journal issues!

These links will take you to the full text of a few journals you might be interested in. Browse the current issue! Browse the past issues!

Book Links
"A magazine designed for teachers, librarians, booksellers, parents and other interested adults in connecting children with books. Focuses on articles that target those people that educate children from preschool through eighth grade."
Bookbird: A Journal of International Children's Literature
"Published by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), Bookbird communicates new ideas to the whole community of readers interested in children's books, publishing work on any topic in the field of international children's literature."
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Devoted to the review of current books for children. Providing concise summaries and critical evaluations, this invaluable resource assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field. Each issue of Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books includes expert reviews by a world-renowned staff. These reviews give an in-depth look at selected book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, quality of the format, as well as suggestions for circular use."
Children's Literature
"Children's Literature is the annual publication of the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association. Encouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically based articles that address key issues in the field."
Children's Literature Association Quarterly
"Continues its tradition of publishing first-rate scholarship in Children's Literature Studies. Recent articles include "The Narnian Schism: Reading the Christian Subtext as Other in the Children's Stories of C. S. Lewis," "Dusty, the Dyke Barbie," and "Playing Empire: Children's Parlor Games, Home Theatricals, and Improvisational Play." Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews."
Children's Literature in Education
"Critical evaluation, analysis or commentary for librarians, teachers, students, writers and interested parents on social issues reflected in books, interviews with authors and illustrators and accounts of classroom practice and experience."
Horn Book
"Includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world."
Jeunesse:Young People, Texts, Cultures
"We are especially interested in the cultural functions and representations of “the child.” This can include children’s and young adult literature and media; young people’s material culture, including toys; digital culture and young people; historical and contemporary constructions, functions, and roles of “the child” and adolescents; and literature, art, and films by children and young adults."
Lion and the Unicorn
"Theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture."

Research Guides

Writing for Children and Young Adults: Find Articles

Find Articles

Good Places to Start

Browse Articles