Locating Health Statistics & Data Sets

State cancer profiles. Includes stats for demographics, screening and risk factors, incidence, prevalence, and mortality.

"The American Cancer Society projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden, because cancer incidence and mortality data lag three to four years behind the current year. In addition, the regularly updated Facts & Figures publications present the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival, as well as information on symptoms, prevention, early detection and treatment."

Look at cancer statistics by type, race, ethnicity, sex, and trends within those groups.

US and state data, including diagnosis, preventive care, practices, complications, etc...

"... only national data source measuring how Americans use and pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending. Annual surveys of individuals and families, as well as their health care providers, provide data on health status, the use of medical services, charges, insurance coverage, and satisfaction with care."

"HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties."

" provides key statistics about CMS programs and national health expenditures. The CMS Data Compendium contains historic, current, and projected data on Medicare enrollment and Medicaid recipients, expenditures, and utilization. Data pertaining to budget, administrative and operating costs, individual income, financing, and health care providers and suppliers are also included"

Links to Data and Statistics

"...main advocate for accelerated, comprehensive and coordinated global action on the HIV/AIDS pandemic."

Click on disease to get more information and statistics.

"...an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States."

"... an overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and to provide details on injury surveillance methodology and tools to assist in data analysis."

" provides annual information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics. These data are collected through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI)."

Includes statistics, maps, trends and information on breastfeeding

"Features general and key reports and studies on a variety of nutrition topics. For other studies, be sure to look under the specific topic of interest, such as Weight and Obesity, or US Nutrition Assistance Programs."

"...includes over 250 indicators on topics such as health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education. Users can access HNP data by country, topic, or indicator, and view the resulting data (and wealth quintiles) in tables, charts or maps that can be easily shared through email, Facebook and Twitter."

". The obesity prevalence maps and interactive databases are provided in this section. The obesity maps offer state and territory level estimates of the U.S. adult obesity prevalence. Use the interactive database systems to find state level nutrition, physical activity, and obesity, data, trends and legislation information."

Includes maps broken down by age, region, socioeconomic, educational status, or country.

Includes reports, maps, and country statistics

Data & statistics, including breakdown and trends.

Several reports and data sources.

International statistics on levels of consumption, patterns, harms and consequences, economic aspects, policies, etc...

"variety of sources of information NIDA uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. The resources below cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings."

Includes link to National Survey on Drug Use and Health.

"summarizes U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics"

"AFSP's latest data on suicide are taken from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Data & Statistics Fatal Injury Report for 2015. Suicide rates listed are Age-Adjusted Rates."

"Data courtesy of the National Center for Health Statistics."

"...overview of suicide trends and patterns in the United States (US). These graphs can be used by public health officials, researchers, practitioners and the public to better understand the burden of suicide.... "

"...is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which NCHS collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics. These data are provided through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths."

"... provides access to the timeliest vital statistics for public health surveillance, through 1) releases of Quarterly Provisional Estimates and 2) Special Reports based on a current flow of vital statistics data from state vital records offices."

"More than 100 indicators that focus on risks and positive developments for children"